August 31, 2005

(Complete) Euan MacCrimmon wins Argyllshire Gathering Gold Medal

Oban, Scotland – August 24-25, 2005 – Euan MacCrimmon of Inverness, Scotland, was awarded the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal for Piobaireachd at the Argyllshire Gathering today, adding his name to one of piping’s most famous lists of competitive achievements.

Gold Medal
1st Euan MacCrimmon, “MacLeod of MacLeod’s Lament”
2nd Simon McKerrell, Edinburgh, “MacLeod of MacLeod’s Lament”
3rd Greg Wilson, New Zealand, “Lament for MacDonald of Kinlochmoidart, No. 2”
4th Richard Hawke, New Zealand, “MacLeod of MacLeod’s Lament”
5th James MacHattie, Toronto, “Lament for MacDonald of Kinlochmoidart, No. 2”
Judges: Tom Speirs, John Wilson, Malcolm McRae

In the Senior Piobaireachd, which is reserved for those who hold a Gold Medal from either the Argyllshire Gathering or the Northern Meeting, Angus MacColl, who lives just up the road from Oban, took the big prize.

Senior Piobaireachd
1st Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland, “Nameless (cherede darievea)”
2nd Murray Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland, “The Earl of Ross’s March”
3rd P-M Gordon Walker, Moscow, Scotland, “Beinn a’ Ghriain”
4th Iain Speirs, Edinburgh, “Nameless (cherede darievea)”
Judge: Jim McGillivray, John MacDougall, Angus J. MacLellan

Silver Medal
1st William Geddes, Dumfries, Scotland
2nd Finlay Johnstone, Glasgow
3rd Andrew Douglas, Syracuse, New York
4th Ross McCrindle
5th Donald MacKay, Glasgow
Judges: Hugh MacCallum, Jack Taylor, Neil Mulvie

MacGregor Memorial
1st Gavin Stewart
2nd Alex Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
3rd Eric Ouelette, New York
4th Fraser Whylie

Former Winners MMSSRR
1st P-M Gordon Walker
2nd Colin Clansey, Ottawa
3rd Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld, Scotland
4th Angus MacColl
Judges: Bob Worrall, Iain MacFadyen, Jimmy Banks

Piper & Drummer Onlined posted the Gold Medal results as they were announced at 7:37 p.m. GMT.

The Thursday outdoor light music competitions saw heavy rain at times, with some sunny breaks. Results were scattered.

A-Grade March
1st Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland
2nd Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia
3rd Margaret Houlihan, Glasgow
4th Alastair Dunn, Glasgow
5th James MacHattie

A-Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st Neil Smith, Balfron, Scotland
2nd Alexis Meunier, Brittany
3rd Alastair Dunn
4th Jori Chisholm, Seattle

1st Angus MacColl
2nd Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
3rd Gordon MacLean, Stirling, Scotland
4th Andrea Boyd, Antigonish, Nova Scotia

B-Grade March
1st Roddy Weir, RHF
2nd Gareth Rudolph, South Africa
3rd Alan Johnston, Glasgow
4th Fiona MacKay, Glasgow
5th Andrew Carlisle, Ballygowan, Northern Ireland
Judges: Neil Mulvie, Jim McGillivray

B-Grade S&R
1st Andrew Carlisle
2nd Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
3rd Andrea Boyd
4th Fiona Manson, New Zealand
5th Bernard Bouhadana, Denmark
Judges: John Wilson, Jimmy Banks, Roger Huth


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?