July 31, 2004

FMM wins All-Ireland

Letterkenny, Ireland – July 3, 2004 – The All-Ireland Pipe Band Championship was won by Field Marshal Montgomery in a close contest that saw second-prize-winners St. Laurence O’Toole win the March, Strathspey & Reel section of the competition. St. Laurence O’Toole won the drumming for the third consecutive year.

In Grade 2 Ballinderry Bridge won the overall title as well as the drumming.

Grade 1

1st St. Laurence O’Toole
2nd Field Marshal Montgomery
3rd Ballycoan
Judges: Iain Woods, Ian Roddick (piping); Jim Hutton (drumming); David Clark (ensemble)

1st Field Marshal Montgomery
2nd St. Laurence O’Toole
3rd Ballycoan
Judges: Winston Pollock, James Campbell (piping); Gordon Parkes (drumming); Ciaran Mordaunt (ensemble)

Also competing in Grade 1 were Ravara and Bleary & District, the latter of which received the prize for best bass section.

Grade 2
1st Ballinderry Bridge
2nd Cullybackey
3rd University of Lutton
4th Killeen
Drumming: Ballinderry

Grade 3A
1st Finvoy
2nd Bready
3rd Arklow
4th North Belfast
Drumming: Banbridge

Grade 3B
1st Seven Towers
2nd Marlacoo
3rd Finton Lalor
4th Altnaveigh
Drumming: Seven Towers

Grade 4A
1st Annsborough
2nd Sgt. Walker Memorial
3rd Queen Elizabeth
4th Castlerock
Drumming: Annsborough

Grade 4B
1st Culleybackey
2nd McNeilstown
3rd Thiepval Memorial
4th Letterkenny & District
Drumming: McNeilstown


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?