August 31, 2006

Greg Wilson: Oban Gold Medallist

Oban, Scotland – August 23-24, 2006 – Greg Wilson of New Zealand was awarded the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal for Piobaireachd at the Argyllshire Gathering today, adding his name to one of piping’s most famous lists of competitive achievements.

Due to a conflict with the Senior Piobaireachd, Wilson was last to play in the field of 29 competitors. He had been chasing the prize for more than a decade, despite being a regular heavy favourite each year. He already had the Northern Meeting Gold Medal, two Clasps, two Bratach Gorms and three Silver Chanters to his name.

Gold Medal
1st Greg Wilson, New Zealand, “Lord MacDonald’s Lament”
2nd Stuart Shedden, Glasgow, “The Old Men of the Shells”
3rd Jori Chisholm, Seattle, “Fair Honey”
4th Ian K. MacDonald, Toronto, “The Old Men of the Shells”
5th Glenn Brown, Milton, Ontario, “Lord MacDonald’s Lament”
Judges: Jim McGillivray, Malcolm McRae, Tom Speirs

In the Senior Piobaireachd, Roddy MacLeod of Cumbernauld, Scotland, won against a field of 15 other previous winners of a Highland Society of London Gold Medal. Perennial favourite Willie McCallum of Bearsden, Scotland, could not attend due to other commitments.

Senior Piobaireachd
1st Roddy MacLeod, “My Dearest On Earth, Give Me Your Kiss”
2nd Iain Speirs, Edinburgh, “Port Urlar”
3rd Niall Matheson, Inverness, Scotland, “The MacLeans’ March”
4th Murray Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland, “My Dearest On Earth, Give Me Your Kiss”
Judges: John MacDougall, John Wilson, Andrew Wright

Silver Medal
1st Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland, “MacCrimmon Will Never Return”
2nd Colin Clansey, Ottawa, “MacCrimmon Will Never Return”
3rd Andrew Douglas, Syracuse, New York, “The Duke of Atholl’s Salute”
4th Margaret Houlihan, Glasgow, “The Chisholms’ Salute”
5th William MacIntyre, “MacCrimmon Will Never Return”
Judges: Walter Drysdale, Iain MacFadyen, Jack Taylor

Former Winners MMSSRR
1st Roddy MacLeod
2nd Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland
3rd James Murray, Cupar, Scotland
4th P-M Gordon Walker, Moscow, Scotland
Judges: Ronnie Lawrie, Neil Mulvie, Bob Worral

MacGregor Memorial
1st Cameron Scott, Davis, California “The Old Men of the Shells”
2nd Nathan Drysdale, Edinburgh
3rd Kegan Sheehan, Queensburry, New York
4th Alasdair Henderson, Dunoon, Scotland
Judges: Jimmy Banks, Bruce Hitchings

The Thursday games saw the rest of the light music events, highlighted by Andrea Boyd of Antigonish, Nova Scotia, winning both B-Grade events.

A-Grade March
1st Gordon McCready, Renfrew, Scotland
2nd Niall Matheson, Inverness, Scotland
3rd Ian K. MacDonald
4th John-Angus Smith, London
Judges: Jimmy Banks, Jim McGillivray, Tom Speirs

A-Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st Douglas Murray, Cupar, Fife
2nd James Murray
3rd Alastair Dunn, Glasgow
4th Glenn Brown
Judges: Neil Mulvie, John Wilson, Bob Worrall

1st Ian K. MacDonald
2nd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
3rd P-M Gordon Walker
4th Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
Judges: Walter Drysdale, Andrew Wright

B-Grade March
1st Andrea Boyd
2nd Douglas Campbell
3rd William Geddes, Dumfries, Scotland
4th Brian MacKenzie
Judges: Bruce Hitchings, Ronnie Lawrie, Malcolm McRae

B-Grade S&R
1st Andrea Boyd
2nd William Geddes
3rd Allan Johnstone
4th Douglas Campbell
Judges: John MacDougall, Iain MacFadyen, Robert Wallace


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?