November 30, 2004

PPBSO AGM and Highland Ball November 6

Some 25 motions and three executive positions will be decided at the annual general meeting of the Pipers & Pipe Band Society of Ontario on Saturday, November 6, at Currie Hall of the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario. The meeting starts at 11 a.m.

The organization will appoint three new executive officers – Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary. The Vice-President and Secretary posts are at the end of their two-year terms, and the Treasurer role has been vacated after Gary Moore resigned in October.

PPBSO President Bob Allen had announced that he would leave the position after only one of his third two-year term, but last week reconsidered and will stay on through November 2005.

Twenty-four rule and policy changes that have been approved after initial branch voting will be considered. A full one-fifth of the motions pertain directly to tenor-drumming, probably the hottest domain in pipe band music.

The PPBSO’s AGM will be followed by the organization’s Highland Ball. The 2004 version will be held at the Four Points Sheraton Hotel, 285 King Street East, Kingston, and will begin at 7:30 p.m.

The Society’s Highland Ball celebrates the previous season and toasts 2004 Champion Supreme winners. All of the winning bands but the Grade 1 Toronto Police are scheduled to perform.

2004 PPBSO Champion Supreme winners

Grade 1 – Toronto Police
Grade 2 – Niagara Regional Police
Grade 3 – Braemar
Grade 4 – Hamilton Regional Police (Gr.4)
Grade 5 – Hamilton Regional Police (Gr.5)

Solo Piping – Piobaireachd
Professional – Michael Grey / Andrew Hayes (tie)
Senior Amateur – Matthew Mitchell
Intermediate Amateur – Claire Smith
Junior Amateur – Scott Haynes
Novice – Kelsey Symington

Solo Piping – Light Music
Professional – Michael Grey
Amateur Grade 1 – Matthew Mitchell
Amateur Grade 2 – Mitchell Taylor
Amateur Grade 3 – Marc Dupuis
Amateur Grade 4 – Scott Balcain
Amateur Grade 5 – Andrew Griffin
Over 50 – Gary Hall

Solo Side-Drumming
Professional – Craig Stewart
Amateur Grade 1 – Mitchell MacKay
Amateur Grade 2 – Jamie Watson
Amateur Grade 3 – Michael Tuzyk
Amateur Grade 4 – Matthew Hall
Amateur Grade 5 – Jacob Pritchett

Solo Tenor-Drumming
Professional Flourishing – Jessie Kalvaitis
Amateur Flourishing – Jennifer Borysko
Novice Flourishing – Hannah Pate
Professional Rhythm – Jenn Williams-Bist
Amateur Rhythm – Jennifer Borysko
Novice Rhythm – Penny Shewfelt

Professional – David McIlveen
Amateur – Harold Cook
Novice – Christina Baker

Professional – Ian Stewart
Novice – Ken Heath


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have news? Be sure to send your information to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?