September 30, 2001

(Re-updated) Wilson Wins Clasp at Inverness

Inverness, Scotland – September 5, 2001 – Greg Wilson of Falkirk, Scotland, won the Clasp here today with a rendition of “Lament for MacLeod of Colbeck.” It was Wilson’s first time winning piping’s most coveted prize. Bill Livingstone, Whitby, Ontario, was second for the second year running.

The Gold Medal went to Niall Matheson of Inverness, who played “The Prince’s Salute.” Bruce Gandy of Prince Edward Island was second.

Gordon Walker of Glasgow won the Silver Star Former Winners March, Strathspey & Reel, with Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, taking second, and Alfred Morrison, South Uist, third. It was Walker’s second successive Silver Star.

The Silver Medal was won by Andrew Mathieson of Fife, Scotland, playing “The Marquis of Argyll’s Salute.”

The newly introduced A Grade March, Strathpsey & Reel was won by Christopher Armstrong of Bathgate, Scotland, with Iain Speirs of Edinburgh finishing second.

The Hornpipe & Jig contest was won by Gordon Walker, and Allan Bevan of British Columbia was second.

Alexis Meunier of Brittany won the B Grade March, and Andrew Berthoff, Toronto, won the B Grade Strathspey & Reel.

Clasp (For previous winners of the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal at Oban or Inverness)
1st Greg Wilson, “Lament for MacLeod of Colbeck”
2nd Bill Livingstone, “Lament for John Garve MacLeod of Raasay”
3rd Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “The Unjust Incarceration”
4th Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow, “Donald Gruamach’s March”
Judges: D. Murray, A. Wright, D. MacPherson

Gold Medal
1st Niall Matheson, “The Prince’s Salute”
2nd Bruce Gandy, “Mary’s Praise”
3rd Herve Lafloc’h, Brittany, “The End of the Great Bridge”
4th Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh, “The Prince’s Salute”
5th Iain Speirs, Edinburgh, “The MacKays’ Banner”
Judges: H. MacCallum, J. Wilson, J. Young

Former Winners MSR
1st Gordon Walker, “Knightswood Ceilidh,” “Pap of Glencoe,” Shepherd’s Crook,” “Ewe wi’ the Crookit Horn,” “The Sheepwife,” “John Morrison, Assynt House”
2nd Willie McCallum, “Stirlingshire Militia,” “The Duchess of Edinburgh,” “Bogan Lochan,” “Dora MacLeod,” “John MacKechnie’s Big Reel,” “The Grey Bob”
3rd Alfred Morrison, “MacLean of Pennycross,” “74th’s Farewell to Edinburgh,” “Cameronian Rant,” “Lady MacKenzie of Gairloch,” “Miss Proud,” “Alick C. MacGregor”
4th Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, “Brigadier Ronald Cheape of Tirroran,” “John MacDonald of Glencoe,” “Piper’s Bonnet,” “Inveraray Castle,” “Dr. MacPhail’s Reel,” “John Morrison, Assynt House”
Judges: I. Morrison, R. Lawrie, A.J. MacLellan

Silver Medal
1st Andrew Mathieson, “The Marquis of Argyll’s Salute”
2nd Jori Chisholm, Seattle, Washington, “Salute to Donald”
3rd John Mulhearn, Troon, Scotland
4th Niall Stewart, Glasgow, Scotland
5th Fiona Manson, New Zealand
Judges: W. Drysdale, M. MacRae, N. Matheson

A Grade MSR
1st Chris Armstrong
2nd Iain Speirs
3rd Greg Wilson
4th Graeme Roy, Blanefield
Judges: I. MacLellan, J. Wilson, J. Young

B Grade March
1st Alexis Meunier
2nd James Beaumont, Edinburgh
3rd Bruce Erskine
4th Andrew Berthoff, Toronto
Judges: A. Wright, W. Drysdale, R. Lawrie

B Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st Andrew Berthoff, “Blair Drummond,” “Broadford Bay”
2nd Simon McKerral
3rd Alexis Meunier
4th Ross McKrindle
Judges: R. Huth, J. Allan, A. Venters

Hornpipe & Jig
1st Gordon Walker
2nd Allan Bevan
3rd Greg Wilson
4th Chris Armstrong
Judges: I. MacLellan, H. MacInnes, D. MacPherson


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?