September 30, 2005

(Complete) Greg Wilson wins Clasp

Aviemore, Scotland – September 7-8, 2005 – Greg Wilson of New Zealand won his second Clasp playing the “Big Nameless” piobaireachd in an excellent contest. Willie McCallum of Bearsden, Scotland, was second, the Clasp just eluding him yet again. Sentimental favourite Bill Livingstone performed “Lament for the Union” in that last appearance of his storied competition career and received tumultuous and sustained applause as he exited the stage.

On Wednesday, Donald MacPhee of Alexandria, Scotland, was awarded the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal for Piobaireachd at the Northern Meeting today, marking the first time that a Gold Medal was awarded in a place other than Inverness or Oban. MacPhee had been “chapping on the door” of the Gold Medal for several years.

1st Greg Wilson, New Zealand, “Nameless – cherede darievea”
2nd Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “Earl of Ross’s March”
3rd Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia, “Earl of Ross’s March”
4th Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld, Scotland, “Nameless – cherede darievea”
Judges: Angus MacLellan, Andrew Wright, Iain MacFadyen

Highland Society of London Gold Medal
1st Donald MacPhee, “Lament for Captain MacDougall”
2nd James Murray, Fife, Scotland
3rd P-M Michael Grey, MBE, The Highlanders
4th Glenn Brown, Shotts, Scotland
5th Ian K. MacDonald, Toronto, “Clan Ranald’s Salute”
Judges: Hugh MacCallum, Jack Taylor, George Lumsden

Silver Medal
1st Gavin Walker, Stirling, Scotland
2nd Ross McCrindle, Edinburgh
3rd Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
4th Andrew Douglas, Syracuse, New York
5th James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
Judges: Malcolm McRae, Iain Morrison, John Wilson

Silver Star (Former Winners MMSSRR)
1st Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
2nd Chris Armstrong, Falkirk, Scotland
3rd Jack Lee, Surrey
4th Willie McCallum
Judges: Ronald Lawrie, John MacDougall, Iain MacLellan

A-Grade MSR
1st Peter Hunt, Glasgow
2nd Glenn Brown
3rd Simon McKerrell, Edinburgh
4th Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
Judge: Iain MacFadyen, Andrew Wright, Angus J. MacLellan

B-Grade March
1st Callum Beaumont
2nd William Geddes, Dumfries, Scotland
3rd Bernard Bouhadana, Denmark
4th Gregor Speirs, Edinburgh
Judges: Ronald Lawrie, Iain MacLellan, Walter Cowan

B-Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st Finlay Johnstone, Glasgow
2nd Gordon MacLean, Stirling, Scotland
3rd Andrew Carlisle, Northern Ireland
4th William Geddes
Judges: John MacDougall, Malcolm McRae, Jack Taylor

Hornpipe & Jig
1st Angus MacColl
2nd Ross McCrindle
3rd Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
4th Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland
Judges: Ian Duncan, George Lumsden, John Wilson

Under-15 March
1st Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland
2nd Glenn Ross, Forfar, Scotland
3rd Billy Stewart, Perth, Scotland
4th Seonaidh MacIntyre, Lochcarnan, Scotland
Judges: Bruce Hitchings, James Burnet

Under-18 MSR
1st Fraser Maitland, Stonehaven, Scotland
2nd Karen MacLean, Plockton, Scotland
3rd George Stewart, Perth, Scotland
4th Calum MacColl, Fort William, Scotland
Judges: Hugh MacCallum, Alan Forbes

Under-18 Piobaireachd
1st George Stewart
2nd Andrew Travers, Perth, Scotland
3rd James MacKenzie, Isle of Lewis, Scotland
4th Fraser Maitland
Judges: Bruce Hitchings, James Burnet


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?