October 31, 2000

Lynda MacKay Wins McCallum Prize Pipe

Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada – October 29, 2000 – Lynda MacKay won the McCallum Prize Pipe as the aggregate champion in the first Paderno Cup Amateur Invitational Solo Piping Competition hosted here by the College of Piping.

MacKay placed first in the March, Strathspey and Reel and second in the Piobaireachd to claim the overall title. For her efforts she received the Paderno Cup and the Prize Pipe donated by McCallum Bagpipe Makers.

Matthew Malloch of South Weymouth, Massachusetts, won first place in the Piobaireachd event with “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee.” He received a custom bound, 15-book Piobaireachd Society Collection. Eleven amateur pipers from Canada, the United
States, New Zealand and Scotland competed in the competition.

1st Matthew Malloch, “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee”
2nd Lynda MacKay, “The Battle of Strome”
3rd Jonathan Grady, Summerside, “Queen Anne’s Lament”
4th Andrea Boyd, Antigonish, Nova Scotia, “The Groat”
5th Ben Schurman, Summerside, “Salute To Donald”

March, Strathspey & Reel
1st Lynda MacKay
2nd Andrea Boyd
3rd Elizabeth Tomlik, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
4th Heather MacIsaac, Halifax, Nova Scotia
5th Jonathan Grady

Also competing were Kali Dunlap, Chicago, Illinois; Blair
Cooper, Winnipeg, Manitoba; Matthew Smith, Dunedin New Zealand; and Christpher Gibb, Edinburgh, Scotland.

The judge for both events was Andrew Hayes of Ottawa, Ontario.


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?