August 31, 2005

Updated: Dunvegan Medal goes to Stewart

Portree, Skye, Scotland – August 2, 2005 – The Dunvegan Medal was awarded to Naill Stewart of Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland, at the Skye Highland Gathering. Simon McKerrell of Edinburgh won the Clasp, a contest reserved for previous winners of the Dunvegan Medal.

1st Niall Stewart, “Mrs. MacLeod of Talisker’s Salute”
2nd Neil Smith, Bridge of Weir, Scotland
3rd Simon Marshall
4th Ed McIwaine
5th Tracey Williams
Judges: Malcolm McRae, Iain MacFadyen, Dugald MacNeill

Dunvegan Clasp
1st Simon McKerrell, “MacLeod of MacLeod’s Lament”
2nd P-M Gordon Walker, Moscow, Scotland
3rd Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
Judges: Malcolm MacRae, Ronnie Lawrie, Iain Morrison

2/4 March
1st P-M Gordon Walker
2nd Roddy Macleod
3rd John Angus Smith, Glasgow
4th Neil smith
5th Fiona Mackay
Judges: Iain Morrison, Iain MacFadyen, Malcolm McRae

Strathspey & Reel
1st Roddy Macleod
2nd Simon Marshall
3rd P-M Michael Gray, The Highlanders
4th Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
5th P-M Gordon Walker
Judges: Iain Morrison, Iain MacFadyen, Malcolm McRae

6/8 Marches
1st Niall Stewart
2nd Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld, Scotland
3rd P-M Gordon Walker
4th Neil Smith
5th Alan Johnstone
Judges: Ronnie Lawrie, Iain Morrison

1st P-M Gordon Walker, “Duncan MacKillop,” “Rakes of Kildare”
2nd Niall Stewart
3rd Roddy MacLeod
4th Simon McKerrall
5th Euan MacCrimmon
Judges: Ronnie Lawrie, Iain Morrison


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?