November 30, 2005

Walker wins Bratach Gorm

London – November 5, 2005 – P-M Gordon Walker of Moscow, Scotland, won the Bratach Gorm at the Scottish Piping Society of London’s annual competitions at Glazer’s Hall. The contest is reserved for winners of a Highland Society of London Gold Medal, the Open Piobaireachd at London, or the Dunvegan Medal.

With the win, Walker gains the second invitation to the 2006 Glenfiddich Solo Piping Championships in October. Willie McCallum of Bearsden, Scotland, will be invited as reigning Glenfiddich champion.

Bratach Gorm
1st Gordon Walker, “Lament for the Children”
2nd Stuart Shedden, Glasgow
3rd Greg Wilson, New Zealand
4th Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
5th Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh
Judges: Jack Taylor, Iain MacFadyen, John Wilson

Gillies Cup (Piobaireachd for Bratach and A-Grade players)
1st Robert Wallace, Glasgow, “The King’s Taxes”
2nd Stuart Shedden
3rd Colin MacLellan, Edinburgh
4th Greg Wilson
Judges: Andrew Wright, Gavin Stoddart

R.G. Lawrie Snuff Mull (A-Grade Piobaireachd)
1st Alastair Dunn, Glasgow
2nd Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
3rd Andrew Rogers, Fredricton, New Brunswick

John Roe Plate (B- & C-Grade Piobaireachd
1st Matt Pantaleoni, St. Louis
2nd Craig Sked
3rd Gordon Bruce

Highland Club Challenge Cup (Amateur Piobaireachd)
1st Douglas Gardner
2nd Marco Gresnigt
3rd Jamie Forrester

J.B.Robertson March (A-Grade)
1st Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld, Scotland
2nd Willie McCallum
3rd Simon Marshall, Bathgate, Scotland
4th Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland

London Medallion (Premier-Grade MSR)
1st Roddy MacLeod
2nd Willie McCallum
3rd Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
4th Simon Marshall

Strachan Cup (A-Grade MSR)
1st Finlay Johnston, Glasgow
2nd Andrew Hall
3rd Callum Beaumont

Hodden Grey (B- & C-Grade MSR)
1st Ryan Canning
2nd Michael Fitzhenry
3rd Jean Morrison

Highland Society of London Targe (Amateur MSR)
1st Connor McCallion
2nd Jamie Forrester
3rd Robin Davies

Mary Flora Beaton Cup (Premier-Grade Hornpipe & Jig)
1st Gordon Walker
2nd Roddy MacLeod
3rd Willie McCallum

Donald Forbes (A-Grade Hornpipe & Jig)
1st Bernard Bouhadana, Denmark
2nd Andrew Hall
3rd James Stewart

Hugh MacMillan (B- & C-Grade Hornpipe & Jig)
1st Megan Harrington
2nd Ryan Canning
3rd Matt Pantaleoni, Gordon Bruce (tied)

Peter Richardson (Amateur Jig)
1st Connor McCallion
2nd Jamie Forrester
3rd Douglas Gardiner

Highland & Islands (18 & Younger Air & Jig)
1st Connor McCallion
2nd Emmett Conway
3rd James Gore
4th Callum Armstrong
5th James Thomson
6th Fiona Teerlink
7th Alan Gibbs


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?