August 31, 2009

World’s best revving up for Argyllshire Gathering

About 60 of the world’s top solo Highland pipers will once again congregate in hotels and halls in the town of Oban for the Argyllshire Gathering, traditionally considered one of the pre-eminent events of the solo year.
On Wednesday, August 26, the major indoor events occur, highlighted by the Highland Society of London Gold Medal competition, the Senior Piobaireachd and the Silver Star Former Winners March, Strathspey & Reel.
The order-of-play for the Gold Medal:
1. Gareth Rudolph, Glasgow
2. Andrew Rogers, Fredericton, New Brunswick
3. Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland
4. Alastair Dunn, Glasgow
5. James MacHattie, Toronto
6. Innes Smith, Edinburgh
7. Andrew Hayes, Ottawa
8. Jonathan Greenlees, Northern Ireland
9. Andrea Boyd, Antigonish, Nova Scotia
10. William Geddes, Dumfries, Scotland
11. Ian K. MacDonald, Whitby, Ontario
12. Gordon McCready, Renfrew, Scotland
13. Colin Lee, Vancouver
14. Neil Smith, Bridge of Allan, Scotland
15. Douglas Murray, Cupar, Scotland
16. Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
17. Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland
18. Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland
19. Jori Chisholm, Seattle
20. Finlay Johnston, Glasgow
21. Gavin Walker, Stirling, Scotland
22. Simon McKerrell, Airdrie, Scotland
23. Marion Horsburgh, New Zealand
24. James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
25. Alan Bevan, Abbotsford, British Columbia
26. Fiona Manson, Glasgow
27. Martin Kessler, Germany
28. John-Angus Smith, London
29. Glenn Brown, Glasgow
Silver Medal order-of-play:
1. Andrew Hall, Upminster, England
2. Andrew Mathieson, Glasgow
3. Nathan Drysdale, Edinburgh
4. Xavier Boderiou, Brittany
5. Neil Hall, Midlothian, Scotland
6. Andrew Carlisle, Northern Ireland
7. David Wilton, Forfar, Scotland
8. Alexis Maunier, Brittany
9. Alex Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
10. Lyric Todkill, Houston
11. Matt Pantaleoni, St. Louis
12. Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh
13. Andrew Lee, Surrey, British Columbia
14. Tracey Williams, Glasgow
15. Duncan Grant
16. Iain Marshall, Oban, Scotland
17. Willie McIntyre, Edinburgh
18. Steven Watterston
19. Jamie Forrester, London
20. William Nichols, Seattle
21. Alan Johnston, Glasgow
22. Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland
23. Stuart Easton, New Zealand
24. James Patrick Troy, Victoria, British Columbia
25. Alastair Lee, Vancouver
26. Sean McKeown, Toronto
27. Roderick Weir, Edinburgh
28.Samuel Dillahey, South Carolina
29. John Mulhearn, Troon, Scotland
30. Ashleigh Bell, Muir of Ord, Scotland
Judges are not yet confirmed, though the Gold Medal bench is rumoured to comprise John MacDougall, Iain MacFadyen and Colin MacLellan.
On Thursday, August 27, the event moves to Mossfield Park for the A-Grade and B-Grade light music events. The winner of the Gold Medal traditionally acts as pipe-major of the group of competing pipers who lead the procession to the park, playing “The Argyllshire Gathering” as they enter the field.




Forgotten Password?