September 05, 2013

Beaumont wins Gold, Liddell Silver Star, Henderson Silver, Dunn A-Grade MSR at Northern Meeting

Inverness, Scotland – September 5, 2013 – Callum Beaumont was the winner of the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal at Inverness, adding one of the solo piping world’s biggest prizes to his growing array of wins. In winning the Gold Medal, Beaumont became one of few pipers to have previously won the Clasp at the same competition, which he did in 2012 on his first try, following his 2011 win of the Gold Medal at the Argyllshire Gathering. The first day of solo piping competitions at the 2013 Northern Meeting at Eden Court Theatre also saw Alasdair Henderson of Dunoon, Scotland, win the Silver Medal, and Alastair Dunn of Glasgow win the A-Grade March, Strathspey & Reel. The events open the door for the winners to compete in the Highland Society of London Gold Medals and the Silver Star MSRs at both Oban and Inverness. Later that night, Stuart Liddell of Inveraray, Scotland, won the Silver Star Former Winners MSR. It was the first time that Liddell had gained the prize.

Stay tuned to pipes|drums for results from the second day of the 2013 Northern Meeting as they become available.

Highland Society of London Gold Medal
1st Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland, “Nameless – Hiharin odin, hiharin dro”
2nd Douglas Murray, Cupar, Scotland, “The Rout of Glenfruin”
3rd Faye Henderson, Aberdeen, Scotland, “Clanranald’s Salute”
4th Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh, “Clanranald’s Salute”
5th John Mulhearn, Glasgow, “The Rout of Glenfruin”
Judges: Malcolm McRae, William Morrison, Stuart Shedden

Silver Medal
1st Alasdair Henderson, “Lord MacDonald’s Lament”
2nd Craig Sutherland, Crieff, Scotland, “Fair Honey”
3rd Darach Urquhart, Glasgow, “All the Old Men Paid Rent but Rory”
4th Jamie Forrester, London, “Duntroon’s March”
5th George Stewart, Perth, Scotland, “Melbank’s Salute”
Judges: Bruce Hitchings, Iain Morrison, Jack Taylor

Silver Star Former Winners MSR
1st Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
2nd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
3rd Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland
4th Cameron Drummond
5th Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia, Canada

Judges: Walter Cowan, Ian McLellan, Bob Worrall

A-Grade MSR
1st Alastair Dunn, Glasgow
2nd Alex Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
3rd Ben McClamrock, Baltimore
4th Alasdair Henderson
5th Finlay Johnston, Glasgow
Judges: James Banks, Barry Donaldson, John Wilson


  1. Well done, Callum. Fantasitc. I’m just imagining what how many more trophies etc you can amass over the next 20+ years, given your tender age. Scary stuff. Keep doing what you do. Brilliant.



Forgotten Password?