August 31, 2009

Complete: Alastair Dunn wins Argyllshire Gathering Gold; MacColl takes fourth Senior; Drummond Silver

Oban, Scotland – August 26, 2009 – Alastair Dunn of Glasgow, originally from Northern Ireland, was awarded the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal for Piobaireachd at the Argyllshire Gathering today, adding his name to one of piping’s most famous lists of competitive achievements. Dunn had won the Gold Medal at the Northern Meeting in 2006.
The Senior Piobaireachd was won earlier by Angus MacColl, from Benderloch, Scotland, just down the road from Oban. It was MacColl’s fourth time winning the prize.
Highland Society of London Gold Medal
1st Alastair Dunn, “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee”
2nd Glenn Brown, Glasgow, “The MacRaes’ March”
3rd Marion Horsburgh, New Zealand, “The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute”
4th Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland, “Nameless – Hiharin Dro o Dro”
5th Andrew Hayes, Ottawa, “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee”
Judges: John MacDougall, Iain MacFadyen, Colin MacLellan
Also competing but not in the prizes:
Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland; Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland; James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland; Andrea Boyd, Antigonish, Nova Scotia; Jori Chisholm, Seattle; William Geddes, Dumfries, Scotland ; Jonathan Greenlees, Northern Ireland; Finlay Johnston, Glasgow; Ian K. MacDonald, Whitby, Ontario; Martin Kessler, Germany; Colin Lee, Vancouver; James MacHattie, Toronto; Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland; Fiona Manson, Glasgow; Gordon McCready, Renfrew, Scotland; Simon McKerrell, Airdrie, Scotland; Douglas Murray, Cupar, Scotland; Andrew Rogers, Fredericton, New Brunswick; Gareth Rudolph, Glasgow; Innes Smith, Edinburgh; Neil Smith, Bridge of Allan, Scotland; John-Angus Smith, London; and Gavin Walker, Stirling, Scotland.
Angus MacColl with the hardware from the Glenfiddich-sponsored Senior Piobaireachd at the Argyllshire Gathering. [Photo: Derek Maxwell]Senior Piobaireachd
1st Angus MacColl, “Mrs. MacLeod of Talisker’s Salute”
2nd Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland, “The Earl of Ross’s March”
3rd Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia, “Lament for Donald Ban MacCrimmon”
4th Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “MacLeod of Colbecks Lament”
Judges: Malcolm McRae, John Wilson, Andrew Wright
Silver Medal
1st Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh, “Clan Chattan’s Gathering”
2nd Alastair Lee, Vancouver, British Columbia, “The MacKays’ Banner”
3rd David Wilton, Forfar, Scotland, “The Piper’s Warning to His Master”
4th Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland, “Clan Chattan’s Gathering”
5th John Mulhearn, Troon, Scotland, “The Piper’s Warning to His Master”
Judges: Alan Forbes, Jim McGillivray, Ronnie McShannon
The Silver Medal result was not announced until after 7:30 pm.
Also competing but not in the prizes:
Ashleigh Bell, Muir of Ord, Scotland; Xavier Boderiou, Brittany; Andrew Carlisle, Northern Ireland; Samuel Dillahey, South Carolina; Nathan Drysdale, Edinburgh; Stuart Easton, New Zealand; Jamie Forrester, London; Alex Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia; Duncan Grant; Andrew Hall, Upminster, England; Neil Hall, Midlothian, Scotland; Alan Johnston, Glasgow; Andrew Lee, Surrey, British Columbia; Iain Marshall, Oban, Scotland; Andrew Mathieson, Glasgow; Alexis Maunier, Brittany; Willie McIntyre, Edinburgh; Sean McKeown, Toronto; William Nichols, Blaine, Washington; Matt Pantaleoni, St. Louis; James Troy, Victoria, British Columbia; Lyric Todkill, Houston; Steven Watterston; Roderick Weir, Edinburgh; and Tracey Williams, Glasgow.
RSPS Silver Star Former Winners MSR
1st James Murray, Cupar, Scotland
2nd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
3rd Gordon Walker, Galston, Scotland
4th Douglas Murray, Cupar, Scotland
Judges: James Banks, Barry Donaldson, Bob Worrall
1st Craig Sutherland
2nd Craig Muirhead
3rd Keith Bowes
Judges: Ronald Clarke, Dugald MacNeill, Jack Taylor
Stay tuned to pipes|drums for Thursday results from Oban as they are made available.




Forgotten Password?