Five first winners at Duncan Johnstone

Published: March 18, 2017
(Page 1 of 1)

Duncan Johnstone

Glasgow – March 18, 2017 – Results were fairly spread around at the annual competition held in honour of the great Duncan Johnstone, reserved for those grade B and C by the Competing Pipers Association. The five first prizes went to five different players, and Cameron MacDougall gained the overall B-Grade trophy. The event at the National Piping Centre was remarked on for running “amazingly smooth,” with Helen Wilkinson coordinating stewarding, and the CPA organizing the orders of play. A beta version of a stewarding app helped things flow along. The app shows who’s checked in and who’s tuning and performing, with updates shown in real-time on a big screen.


1st Cameron MacDougall
2nd Sarah Muir
3rd Ben Duncan
4th Ross Cowan
5th Steven Leask
Judges: Andrew Frater, Alasdair Henderson

1st Callum Moffat
2nd Connor Sinclair
3rd Calum Watson
4th Connor Jardine
5th Calum Brown
Judges: Ronnie McShannon, Tom Speirs


1st John Dew
2nd Calum Brown
3rd Ciaren Ross
4th Dan Nevans
5th John Cameron
Judges: Andrew Frater, Alasdair Henderson

1st Matt Supranowitz
2nd Dan Nevans
3rd John Dew
4th Charles MacDonald
5th Scott Garden
Judges: Glenn Brown, Colin MacLellan

B/C Jig
1st Connor Jardine
2nd Cameron MacDougall
3rd Scott Garden
4th Lachie Dick
5th Ross Cowan
Judge: Ronnie McShannon

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.0/5
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1

The new pipes|drums app offers the same publication with a streamlined experience. Get the latest news optimized for your smartphone.
Download on the App Store

Get it on Google Play
March 28, 1960Walter Douglas, MBE dies, Vancouver.
  • Quelle reprise
    Wed, 22 Mar 2017
    The now double-homage to the anniversary of the 78th Fraser Highlanders “Live In Ireland” concert in Ballymena in 1987 is much deserved and, evidently, attractive to many people who wanted to live or relive the event. That music w …
Read more »
UPCOMING EVENTS April 7, 2017Cincinnati Piping & Drumming Solo Competition & WorkshopSpringdale Nazarene Church, 11177 Springfield Pike, Cincinnati, OH 45246

April 7, 2017Pipers Club AtlanticThe Old Triangle Alehouse 5136 Prince Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia

May 18, 2017Prairie Piping InvitationalRegina, SK

May 19, 2017Saskatchewan Highland Gathering and Celtic FestivalVictoria Park, downtown Regina

May 20, 2017British Pipe Band ChampionshipsPaisley, Scotland

Pipers: Avoid using a bag that is too big for you and stick to a standard size – sometimes called a regular or medium size, depending on make – and approximately 10.5 inches deep.
James Begg, Begg Bagpipes, Glasgow