March 14, 2015

Gardiner makes short list at Duncan Johnstone, wins

Douglas Gardiner competing in shorts at the 2015 Duncan Johnstone Memorial.

Glasgow – March 14, 2015 – Douglas Gardiner of Edinburgh was the overall winner of the annual Duncan Johnstone Memorial Competition for solo pipers graded B and C by the Competing Pipers Association. With two completely different prize lists in the B-Grade events, Gardiner’s win in the Piobaireachd took preference over Connor Sinclair’s first in the MSR. Gardiner forgot to pack his kilt, but was allowed to compete in shorts, which he always wears when travelling to competitions. The event was held at the National Piping Centre.

1st Douglas Gardiner, Edinburgh, “The Desperate Battle”
2nd Sarah Muir, Glasgow, “Rory MacLoude’s Lament”
3rd Graham Mulholland, Perthshire, “Lament for Patrick Og MacCrimmon”
4th Steven Leask, Ayrshire, “The Earl of Ross’s March”
5th Duncan Beattie, Kilmarnock, “Lament for Captain MacDougall”
Judges: Colin MacLellan, Neill Mulvie

1st Connor Sinclair, Creiff
2nd Matt Wilson, Dollar
3rd Cameron MacDougall
4th Callum Watson, Edinburgh
5th Ross Millar, Edinburgh
Judges: Walter Cowan, Iain MacLellan

C-Grade MSR winner Bruce MacDonald, C-Grade Piobaireachd winner Andrew Wright, and B-Grade MSR winner Connor Sinclair with their trophies from the 2015 Duncan Johnstone Memorial. [Photo: Derek Maxwell]
1st Andrew Wright
2nd John MacDonald
3rd Ben Mulhearn, Troon
4th Jonathan Simpson, Edinburgh
5th John MacAlmurray
Judges: Euan Anderson, Ian Duncan

1st Bruce MacDonald
2nd Ciaran Ross
3rd Fraser Allison
4th John MacDonald
5th Chris Ross
Judges: Alan Forbes, Tom Johnstone

1st Andy Wilson, Northern Ireland
2nd George Stewart, Perthshire
3rd Ross Cowan, Annan
4th David Shedden, Bishopbriggs
5th Ross Millar




Forgotten Password?