September 30, 2009

Glenn Brown wins Inverness gold; Drummond: Silver Medal double; Speirs takes A-Grade MSR

Inverness, Scotland – September 3, 2009 – Glenn Brown of Glasgow won the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal at the Northern Meeting, adding his name to a historic list. Cameron Drummond of Edinburgh won the rare “Double” Silver Medal by taking the Northern Meeting award to go along with his Argyllshire Gathering Silver Medal won the previous week.  It was only the second occurence of the Silver Medal Double, the first happening in 1996 by John Patrick of Fankerton, Scotland.
Willie McCallum won the Silver Star Former Winners March, Strathspey & Reel..Earlier, Iain Speirs, also of Edinburgh, was announced the winner of the A-Grade MSR at the Northern Meeting, the first result yet announced at the two-day competition.
Highland Society of London Gold Medal
1st Glenn Brown, “Beloved Scotland”
2nd William Geddes, Edinburgh, “Nameless – hiharin dro o dro”
3rd Fiona Manson, Glasgow, “Lament for the Dead”
4th James Murray, Cupar, Scotland, “The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute”
5th Calum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland, “The Battle of Aldearn #2”
Judges: Jim McGillivray, Jim McIntosh, John Wilson
Silver Medal
1st Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh, “The MacKays’ Banner”
2nd John Mulhearn, Troon, Scotland, “The Gathering of Clan Chattan”
3rd Jamie Forrester, “A Flame of Wrath for Squinting Peter”
4th David Wilton, “Lament for Captain MacDougall”
5th Alistair Lee, Vancouver, “The Desperate Battle”
Judges: Ian Duncan, George Lumsden, Jack Taylor
RSPS Silver Star Former Winners MSR
1st Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland
2nd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
3rd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
4th Gordon Walker, Galston, Scotland
5th James Murray, Cupar
Judges: Iain MacLellan, Malcolm McRae, Ronnie McShannon


A-Grade MSR
1st Iain Speirs, “The Duchess of Edinburgh,” “Arniston Castle,” “Bessie McIntye”
2nd Alan Johnston
3rd Calum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
4th Colin Lee, Surrey, British Columbia
5th Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
Judges: John MacDougall, Iain MacFadyen, Iain Morrison
Stay tuned to pipes|drums for more results from Inverness as they become available.




Forgotten Password?