August 09, 2015

Inveraray takes Perth; Mackenzie, PBClub top Grade 1 band

Perth, Scotland – August 9, 2015 – Six bands competed in the Grade 1 competition, including three playing up from Grade 2, and 14 in Grade 2 for the Perth Highland Games, expanded this year by non-Scottish bands visiting for the World Championships. Weather was mainly sunny. Inveraray & District had straight firsts from the judges in the Grade 1 event, and Mackenzie Caledonian enjoyed a win in Grade 2 and a third in the Grade 1 event, placing ahead of a  band graded Grade 1, as did the Grade 2 Pipeband Club from Australia. In the solo piping, 44 competed in various grades. Gordon McCready had overall the most successful day.

Grade 1
1st Inveraray & District (Scotland) (1,1,1,1)
2nd Vale of Atholl (Scotland) (2,2,2,2)
3rd Mackenzie Caledonian (Scotland) (3,3,3,4)
4th Pipeband Club (Gr2) (Australia (5,6,4,3)
5th Stuart Highlanders (4,4,5,5)
6th St. Andrew’s (Gr2) (Australia (6,6,6,6)
Judges: George Wilson, Cameron Edgar (piping); Paul Turner (drumming); Nat Russell (ensemble)

Grade 2 (14 competed)
1st Mackenzie Caledonian (3,1,3,2)
2nd George Watson’s College (Juvenile) (Scotland) (7,4,1,1,)
3rd Pipeband Club (Australia) (1,7,2,3)
4th Scotia Glenville (Gr3A) (USA) (2,6,4,5)
5th St. Andrew’s (4,2,5,6)
6th St. Thomas Episcopal School (Juvenile) (USA) (6,5,6,4)
Judges: George Wilson, Ken Eller (piping); Paul Turner (drumming); Nat Russell (ensemble)

Solo Piping
1st Bill Geddes, Bridge of Allan, Scotland
2nd Gordon McCready, Renfrew, Scotland
3rd Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
4th Derek Midgley, New Jersey
5th Darach Urquhart, Glasgow
Judges: Malcolm McRae, Andrew Wright

1st Eric Ouellette, New York
2nd Ben Duncan
3rd George Stewart
4th Mail Sicard-Cras
Judges: Patricia Henderson, Colin MacLellan

1st Callum Wynd
2nd Lachie Dick
3rd Jonathan Simpson
4th Joseen Teirlink
5th Andreas Hambson
Judges: Ronnie Clark, Bill Wotherspoon

Light Music
1st Gordon McCready
2nd Ben Duncan
3rd Derek Midgley
4th Connor Sinclair
5th Bill Geddes
Judges: Archie MacLean, Stuart Samson

Strathspey & Reel
1st Gordon McCready
2nd Connor Sinclair
3rd Bill Geddes
4th Ben Duncan
5th Nick Hudson
Judges: James Hamilton, Dougie Murray

1st Eric Ouellette
2nd Callum Watson
3rd Gordon McCready
4th Connor Sinclair
5th Jenny Hazzard




Forgotten Password?