October 31, 2011

Roddy MacLeod wins his fourth Glenfiddich Championship

Blair Atholl, Scotland – October 29, 2011 – Glasgow’s Roddy MacLeod won the 2011 Glenfiddich Championship at Blair Castle, the fourth time he has captured piping’s biggest prize. By winning, he becomes the first qualifier for the 2012 Glenfiddich. MacLeod gained the overall title with a win in the MSR and a third in the Piobaireachd. After several appearances at the Glenfiddich, Iain Speirs of Edinburgh won his first first prize by taking the Piobaireachd. The competition saw two newcomers to the contest, with Callum Beaumont of Bo’ness, Scotland, and Ian K. MacDonald of Whitby, Ontario, participating for the first time.

1st Iain Speirs, “Scarce of Fishing”
2nd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
3rd Roddy MacLeod
4th Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland
5th Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland

Judges: Colin MacLellan, John McDougall, Iain Morrison

1st Roddy MacLeod
2nd Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland
3rd Willie McCallum
4th Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland
5th Stuart Liddell

Judges: Gavin Stoddart, John Wilson, Bob Worrall

Also competing but not in the prizes were Callum Beaumont; Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia; and Ian K. MacDonald.




Forgotten Password?