April 30, 2010

Sinclair wins everything at Edinburgh Local Mod

Edinburgh – April 24, 2010 – Connor Sinclair was the big winner at the annual Edinburgh Local Mod solo piping competitions, sponsored by the Edinburgh branch of An Comunn Gàidhealach. Sinclair won all of the Under-18 and the Under-nder-15 events. It was the third year since piping competitions were added, and more than 50 young pipers participated this year’s events – a substantial  increase over 2009. Among other awards, Sinclair won the new Police Superintendent Donald M. Morrison Memorial Quaich, a trophy to commemorate the late Edinburgh police officer. McCallum Bagpipes again donated many prizes.

Solo Piping
1st Harris MacLennan, George Watson’s College
2nd Holly Fredlander, George Heriot’s School
3rd Sunny Banerjee, George Heriot’s School

Judge: Matt Wilson

1st Connor  Sinclair, “The Massacre of Glencoe

2nd Christie Jack, George Heriot’s School, “Struan Robertson’s Salute

3rd Holly Fredlander, George Heriot’s School, “Lament for the Departure of King James

Judges: George Lumsden, Dugald MacNeill

1st Connor  Sinclair, City of Edinburgh Music School
2nd Christie Jack, George Heriot’s School
3rd Rachel Gray, James Gillespie’s High School

Judge: Matt Wilson

Piobaireachd (RSPS Cup)

1st Connor Sinclair, “Glengarry’s Salute

2nd David Anderson, North Berwick High School, “Battle of Auldearn No.2

Judges: George Lumsden, Dugald MacNeill

MSR (Police Superintendent Donald M Morrison Memorial Quaich)

1st Connor Sinclair, “David Ross,John Roy Stewart,Smith of Chilliechassie

2nd Sean Parr, George Heriot’s School, “Knightswood Ceilidh,“Susan MacLeod,“The Brolum

3rd Stuart Ogilvie, George Heriot’s School, “Hugh Kennedy,” “Ewe wi’ the Crookit Horn,” “Kalibakan

Judge: George Lumsden

Practice Chanter

1st Cameron McGill, George Heriot’s School
2nd Mòrag Morrison, Bun-Sgoil Crois na Cìse
3rd Kyle Rowan
4th Corri Campbell

1st Ruairidh Morrison – Bun-Sgoil Crois na Cìse
2nd Sam Cornish – George Heriot’s School

Under-13 (Sgiath Comann nam Pàrant– Comann nam PàrantShield)
1st Finlay Cunniffe, James Gillespie’s High School
2nd Calum Kaye
3rd Struan McCall

All chanter competitions were judged by Dugald MacNeill.

Connor Sinclair also won the Greentrax Cup for overall excellence on the day.




Forgotten Password?