September 30, 2008

Updated: McCallum savours another Springbank

Campbeltown, Scotland – September 13, 2008 – Willie McCallum of Bearsden, Scotland, is making a habit of winning the annual Kintyre Piping Society Invitational Solo Piping Competition, and he continued his success by winning the MSR and the overall title at this year’s event. It was the fifth time McCallum has won the overall title in the nine years since the competition began.
Iain Speirs of Edinburgh won the Piobaireachd event.
As always, the contest is sponsored by the local Springbank Distillery, makers of an extremely fine malt whisky, a bottle of which each competitor received.
 2008 Springbank competitors L-R: Stuart Liddell, Angus MacColl, Gordon Walker, Iain Speirs, Roddy MacLeod, James Murray, Willie McCallum, Chris Armstrong [photo: Derek Maxwell]
1st Iain Speirs, “In Praise of Morag”
2nd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland, “MacLeod of Raasay’s Salute”
3rd Willie McCallum, “A Lament or Angus Campbell”
4th Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow, “The Old Men of the Shells”
1st Willie McCallum, “Stirlingshire Militia,” “Major Manson at Clachantrushal,” “Susan MacLeod,” “Dora MacLeod,” “Roddy MacDonald’s Fancy,” “John McKechnie’s Big Reel”
2nd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
3rd Gordon Walker, Galston, Scotland
4th James Murray, Cupar, Scotland
Hornpipe & Jig
1st Stuart Liddell
2nd Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland
3rd James Murray
4th Roddy MacLeod
Iain Speirs accepts the trophy for the 2008 Springbank Piobaireachd event [photo: Derek Maxwell]
Judges for all events were Angus J. McLellan, Iain MacFadyen and John MacDougall, and Ban an Tighe was Rona Lightfoot.




Forgotten Password?