October 31, 2006

Alastair Dunn wins Northern Meeting Gold Medal

Aviemore, Scotland – August 31, 2006 – Alastair Dunn of Glagsow was awarded the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal for Piobaireachd at the Northern Meeting. He played last in a contest of 30 competitors. It was Dunn’s second time playing in the contest.

Gold Medal
1st Alistair Dunn, Glasgow, “Isabel Mackay”
2nd James Murray, Cupar, Scotland, “Lord MacDonald’s Lament”
3rd Iain Speirs, Edinburgh, “Borlum’s Salute”
4th James MacHattie, Toronto, “Lament for the Only Son”
5th John-Angus Smith, London, “Borlum’s Salute”
Judges: Ronnie Lawrie, Bill Livingstone, Iain MacFadyen

Silver Medal
1st Finlay Johnstone, Glasgow, “The Chisholms’ Salute”
2nd Donald Mackay, Glasgow, “Weighing From Land”
3rd Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland, “The Duke of Atholl’s Salute”
4th Andrew Carlisle, Ulster, “Grain In Hides and Corn In Sacks”
5th Andrea Boyd, Antigonish, Nova Scotia, “Grain In Hides and Corn In Sacks”
Judges: George Lumsden, Hugh MacCallum, John MacDougall

A-Grade MSR
1st Simon McKerrell, Glasgow
2nd Greg Wilson, New Zealand
3rd Andrew Hayes, Ottawa
4th Margaret Houlihan, Glasgow
Judges: Malcolm McRae, Iain Morrison, Andrew Wright

The result for the Silver Star Former Winners March, Strathspey & Reel was kept secret until Friday morning. No reason was given for the delay.

Silver Star MMSSRR
1st Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland
2nd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
3rd Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld, Scotland
4th Ian K. MacDonald, Whitby, Ontario
Judges: Jimmy Banks, Angus J. MacLellan, John Wilson

1st Murray Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland, “Lament for the Harp Tree”
2nd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland, “Lament fot the Laird of Anapool”
3rd Niall Matheson, Inverness, Scotland, “Lament fot the Laird of Anapool”
4th Greg Wilson, “Lament for the Harp Tree”
Judges: Malcolm McRae, Iain Morrison, Jack Taylor

A-Grade Hornpipe & Jig
1st P-M Gordon Walker, Moscow, Scotland
2nd Ian K. MacDonald
3rd Stuart Liddell
4th Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
Judges: Ronnie Lawrie, Bill Livingstone, Iain MacFadyen

B-Grade March
1st Gareth Rudolph, Glasgow
2nd Cpl. Peter MacGregor
3rd Ryan Canning, Glasgow
4th James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
Judges: Angus J. MacLellan, John Wilson, Jimmy Banks

B-Grade S&R
1st Gareth Rudolph
2nd William Geddes, Dumfries, Scotland
3rd Andrew Hall
4th Douglas Campbell
Judges: Walter Cowan, George Lumsden, Hugh MacCallum

Junior Piobaireachd
1st Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland
2nd James MacKenzie
3rd Ashleigh Bell
4th John-Angus Graham
Judges: Tom Speirs, Dugald MacNeill

Under-18 MSR
1st James MacKenzie
2nd Faye Henderson
3rd George Stewart
4th Andrew Travers
Judges: John MacDougall, Andrew Wright

Under-15 March
1st Andrew MacPhee
2nd Billy Stewart
3rd Alex Levack
4th Josie Burgess


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?