August 31, 2008

Argyllshire Gathering draw made

The order of play for the major events at this year’s Argyllshire Gathering at Oban, Scotland, has been made. Competitors anxiously await the draw, since where and when one plays, and who might be competing before and after, are considered by many to be essential to success. Seven of the 29 pipers in the Gold Medal and nine of the 31 in the Silver Medal are from outside of the United Kingdom.

The piobaireachd contests will be held on Wednesday, August 27th, at various venues in downtown Oban. The history-steeped event is the precursor of the Northern Meeting at Inverness, Scotland, that is held the following week.

Highland Society of London Gold Medal
1 Fiona Manson, Glasgow
2 Finlay Johnston, Glasgow
3 Stuart Shedden, Glasgow
4 James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
5 Gavin Walker, Stirling, Scotland
6 Innes Smith, Edinburgh
7 Jori Chisholm, Seattle
8 Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
9 William Geddes, Edinburgh
10 Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland
11 Margaret Dunn, Glasgow
12 Michael Gray, The Highlanders
13 Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland
14 Andrew Hayes, Ottawa
15 Neil Smith, Glasgow
16 Marion Horsburgh, New Zealand
17 Alastair Dunn, Glasgow
18 Andrew Rogers, Fredericton, New Brunswick
19 Glenn Brown, Milton, Ontario
20 Douglas Murray, Coupar, Scotland
21 Herve Le Floc’h, Brittany
22 James MacHattie, Toronto
23 Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland
24 Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland
25 Simon McKerrell, Glasgow
26 John Angus Smith, London
27 Calum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
28 Gareth Rudolph, Glasgow
29 Gordon McCready, Renfrew, Scotland

Senior Piobaireachd
1 Euan MacCrimmon, Edinburgh
2 Angus MacDonald, Portree, Scotland
3 Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh
4 Robert Wallace, Glasgow
5 James Murray, Coupar, Scotland
6 Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia
7 Donald MacPhee
8 Richard Hawke, New Zealand
9 Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
10 Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
11 Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
12 Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow
13 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
14 Murray Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland
15 Gordon Walker,
16 Niall Matheson, Inverness, Scotland
17 William McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland
18 Greg Wilson, New Zealand

Silver Medal
1 Alasdair Henderson
2 Colin Lee, Surrey, British Columbia
3 Andrew Carlisle, Northern Ireland
4 Craig Sked, South Africa
5 Donald Mackay, Glasgow
6 Martin Kessler, Germany
7 Steven Watterston
8 Michael Fitzhenry, Glasgow
9 Alex Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
10 Roderick Weir, Edinburgh
11 Jonathan Greenlees, Northern Ireland
12 Andrew Hall, Upminster, England
13 Don Neil MacRitchie
14 Euan Dewar
15 Andrew Bonar, Vancouver
16 Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland
17 Alan Johnston
18 Nathan Drysdale, Edinburgh
19 Neil Hall
20 Sean McKeown, Toronto
21 Duncan Grant
22 Peter MacGregor
23 Andrew Lee, Surrey, British Columbia
24 Andrea Boyd, Glasgow
25 Brian MacKenzie
26 Jamie Forrester
27 Edward McIlwaine, Vancouver
28 Willie McIntyre
29 Matt Pantaleoni, St. Louis
30 Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh
31 Lyric Todkill, Houston




Forgotten Password?