January 31, 2007

Browns clean up at Kansas City

Kansas City, Missouri – January 12, 2007 – Glenn and Blair Brown of Milton, Ontario, won the major events at the annual Winter Storm piping and drumming competitions, part of the Midwest Highland Arts Fund’s weekend activities at the Marriott–County Club Plaza hotel. Winners are invited to play at the Winter Storm Concert on January 13.

Gold Medal Piobaireachd
1st Glenn Brown, “MacNeill of Barra’s March” ($750 USD, Naill pipes and US Gold Medal)
2nd Andrew Hayes, Nepean, Ontario “Battle of Waternish” ($500 and Naill practice chanter)
3rd Lyric Todkill, Houston, “Lady Margaret MacDonald’s Salute” ($250 and Naill chanter)
Judges: Stuart Liddell, Willie McCallum, Andrew Wright

Gold Medal Light Music
1st Glenn Brown ($750 and the Tone Czar Gold Medal)
2nd: Jori Chisholm, Seattle ($500)
3rd: Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia ($250)
Judges: Alasdair Gillies, Fred Morrison, Willie McCallum

Gold Medal Drumming
1st Blair Brown ($750, Premier or Pearl snare drum, $1500 travel allowance, and Meade Gold Medal)
2nd Graham Brown, Milton, Ontario ($500)
3rd Eric MacNeill, Albany, New York ($250)
Judges: John Fisher, Jim Kilpatrick, Barry Wilson

Silver Medal Piobaireachd
1st Andrew Lee, Surrey, British Columbia, “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee” ($500, McCallum pipes, and US Silver Medal)
2nd Brian McKenzie, Federal Way, Washington “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee” ($400)
3rd Andrew Douglas, Marietta, New York “The MacGregors’ Salute” ($300)
4th Colin Lee, Surrey, British Columbia “MacLeod of Raasay’s Salute” ($200)
5th David McNally, Overland Park, Kansas “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee” ($100)
Judges: John Cairns, Mike Cusack, Angus MacColl

Gold Medal Bass Drumming
1st Mike Cole, Chicago ($750, Premier bass drum and Davis Drums Gold Medal)
2nd Kahlil Cappuccino, Ottawa, Ontario ($500)
3rd John Rowe, Toronto, Ontario ($250)
Judges: Duncan Gibson, Craig Colquhoun

Gold Medal Tenor Drumming
1st Neil Bruce, Lanark, Scotland ($750, Premier/Hosbilt tenor drum, and TyFry Gold Medal)
2nd Michael O’Neill, Carmel, California ($500)
3rd Tim Djursing, Copenhagen, Denmark ($250)
Judges: Scott Currie, Tyler Fry, Haggis McLeod


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?