October 31, 2002

Competitors Lined Up for Glenfiddich Championships

Ten of the world’s most successful pipers in 2002 have accepted their invitation to this year’s Glenfiddich Piping Championship to be held October 26 at Blair Atholl Castle in Blair Atholl Scotland.

The event is seen as the traditional final event of the 2002 year, culminating in what is the equivalent of a piping all-star game. Each competitor qualifies for invitation to the event through successes at the major competitions throughout the year.

This year’s players are:

  • Mike Cusack, Houston (winner of the United States Piping Foundation competition)
  • Bruce Gandy, Halifax, Nova Scotia (winner of the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal at the Northern Meeting)
  • Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh (winner of the Royal Scottish Pipers Society’s Silver Star at the Northern Meeting)
  • Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland (winner of the Senior Piobaireachd and Former Winners MSR at the Argyllshire Gathering)
  • Angus MacColl, Oban, Scotland (winner of the Donald MacLeod Memorial)
  • Angus MacDonald, Skye (winner of the Clasp at the Northern Meeting)
  • Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld (winner of the Bratach Gorm at London)
  • Iain Speirs, Edinburgh (winner of the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal at the Argyllshire Gathering)
  • Gordon Walker, Cumnock (second prize in the Clasp at the Northern Meeting)
  • Greg Wilson, New Zealand (winner of the Silver Chanter at Dunvegan)

    Jack Lee of Surrey, British Columbia, is not on the list of players, despite winning the Piobaireachd event at last year’s Glenfiddich and the overall prize at the Piobaireachd Society (Canada) competitions in Maxville, Ontario.

    The Glenfiddich comprises two events from which an aggregate winner is taken for the overall championship title. Willie McCallum is the defending champion, having won a record sixth title at last year’s event.

    Judges for the Piobaireachd event will be John MacDougall, Iain MacFadyen and Jack Taylor. The MSR judges will be John D. Burgess, Donald MacPherson, and Gavin Stoddart.


    What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

    Do you have news? Be sure to send your information to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




    Forgotten Password?