September 30, 2008

Competitors set for 2008 Glenfiddich Championship

The 10 competitors for the 2008 Glenfiddich Invitational Solo Piping Championships have been invited and confirmed, and this year’s contest, held as always in the Great Hall of Blair Castle in Blair Atholl, Scotland, will feature: 
  • Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland (Bratach Gorm)
  • Alan Bevan, Surrey, British Columbia (Northern Meeting Gold Medal)
  • Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia (USPF, 2nd in Argyllshire Gathering Silver Star)
  • Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia (2nd in Argyllshire Gathering Sr. Piobaireachd)
  • Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland (Argyllshire Gathering Silver Star)
  • Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
  • Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow (Argyllshire Gathering Sr. Piobaireachd, Silver Chanter)
  • Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland (Argyllshire Gathering Gold Medal)
  • Gordon Walker, Galston, Scotland (2007 Glenfiddich Champion)
  • Greg Wilson, New Zealand (Northern Meeting Clasp)
Niall Stewart will be playing in the event for the first time, and Willie McCallum will be trying for a record ninth overall Glenfiddich win.
Piobaireachd event judges are Bill Livingstone, Iain MacFadyen and Angus J. MacLellan. The MSR will be judged by Walter Cowan, Ronnie MacShannon and Tom Speirs.




Forgotten Password?