August 31, 2004

(Complete) Stuart Liddell wins Argyllshire Gathering Gold Medal

Oban, Scotland – August 25, 2004 – Stuart Liddell of Inveraray, Scotland, was awarded the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal for piobaireachd here at the Argyllshire today, adding his name to one of the most coveted lists in the piping history books. Liddell added the Oban medal to the Gold Medal he won at the Northern Meeting at Inverness in 2000.

The Senior, or “Open,” Pioabireachd was won by Angus MacColl of Benderloch, Scotland, just up the road from Oban, and Gordon Walker of Glasgow took the Former Winners March, Strathspy & Reel.

Gold Medal
1st Stuart Liddell, “Lament for Patrick Og MacCrimmon”
2nd Alan Bevan, Surrey, Canada, “Beloved Scotland”
3rd Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland, “The Battle of Bealach nam Brog”
4th Richard Hawke, New Zealand
5th Marion Horsburgh, New Zealand, “His Father’s Lament for Donald MacKenzie”
Judges: Hugh MacCallum, Iain MacFadyen, Tom Speirs

Liddell, MacPhee and Horsburgh all played in the final four competitors in the 27-piper contest.

Senior Piobaireachd (reserved for Gold Medallists)
1st Angus MacColl, “Donald Gruamach’s March”
2nd Murray Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland, “Donald Gruamach’s March”
3rd Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “Lament for MacLeod of Colbecks”
4th Stuart Liddell, “In Praise of Morag”
5th Dr. Angus MacDonald, Skye, Scotland, “Lady MacDonald’s Lament”
Judges: Walter Drysdale, Malcolm McRae, Andrew Wright

Silver Medal
1st Gordon McCready, Renfrew, Scotland
2nd Daroch Urquhart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland
3rd Alastair Dunn, Northern Ireland
4th James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
5th Simon McKerrall, Edinburgh
Judges: Ronnie Lawrie, Gavin Stoddart, John Wilson

MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd
1st Andrew Douglas, Syracuse, New York
2nd Andrew Lewis, Syracuse, New York
3rd Fraser Maitland, Aberdeen, Scotland
4th Matthew Mitchell, Toronto
Judges: Finlay McNeil, Neil Mulvie, George Lumsden

Former Winners MSR
1st Gordon Walker
2nd Roddy Macleod, Cumbernauld, Scotland
3rd Angus MacColl
4th Andrew Mathieson, Glasgow
Judges: Walter Cowan, Jimmy Banks, James Young

A-Grade March
1st Neil Smith, Bridge of Allan, Scotland
2nd Jack Lee, Surrey, Canada
3rd Alan Bevan
4th Margaret Houlihan, Glasgow
5th James MacHattie, Toronto
Judges: Jimmy Banks, Tom Speirs, Andrew Wright

A-Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st Jack Lee
2nd Simon McKerrell, Edinburgh
3rd James Murray, Cupar, Scotland
4th Neil Smith
5th Alan Bevan
Judges: Walter Drysdale, Iain MacFadyen, John Wilson

B-Grade March
1st Adrian Melvin, Chicago
2nd William Geddes, Dumfrees, Scotland
3rd James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
4th Neil MacPherson, Coquitlam, Canada
5th Ryan McFarland, Northern Ireland
Judges: George Lumsden, Finlay MacNeill, Gavin Stoddart

B Strathspey & Reel
1st Andrew Douglas
2nd Adrian Melvin
3rd James Beaumont
4th Fiona Mackay, Glasgow
5th Marion Horsburgh
Judges: Walter Cowan, Ronnie Lawrie, Malcolm McRae

A-Grade Jig
1st Robert Watt, Northern Ireland
2nd Alan Bevan
3rd James Murray
4th Adrian Melvin
Judges: Hugh MacCallum, Neil Mulvie, James Young


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?