July 31, 2011

FMM wins European Championships in Belfast

Belfast – July 30, 2011 – Field Marshal Montgomery continued its undefeated season with a third win at the the third major RSPBA Championship, the European, held in Belfast in beautiful conditions. 2010 World Champions St. Laurence again settled for second, while Inveraray & District continued its ascent, cracking the top-three for the first tinec since being promoted to Grade 1 after the 2009 season. Despite winning the drumming, House of Edgar-Shotts & Dykeheade found itself out of the list, finishing eighth overall.

Grade 1 (Medley, 11 entered)

1st Field Marshal Montgomery

2nd St. Laurence O’Toole

3rd Inveraray & District

4th ScottishPower

5th Fife Constabulary

6th Boghall & Bathgate

Drumming: House of Edgar-Shotts & Dykehead

Judges: John Wilson, Harry Stevenson (piping); Gordon Craig (drumming); Joe Noble (ensemble)


The Grade 1 result determined the pre-qualifiers for the Grade 1 Finald competitoion at the 2011 World Championships, and the eight bands going through on the merit of the RSPBA’s league table system and non-RSPBA bands that gained a top-six placing at last year’s World’s are:  

  • Boghall & Bathgate

  • Strathclyde Police

  • Field Marshal Montgomery

  • Inveraray & District

  • ScottishPower

  • Simon Fraser University

  • Fife Constabulary

  • St. Laurence O’Toole

Grade 2

1st Ravara

2nd Seven Towers

3rd Grampian Police

4th Dumfries & Galloway Constabulary

5th Aughintober

6th Buchan & District

Drumming: Dumfries & Galloway Constabulary

Judges: Winston Pollock, John Moles (piping); Ciaran Mordaunt (drumming); Denver Cardwell (ensemble)




Forgotten Password?