August 31, 2001

Jack Lee Completes Rare Double at Oban

Oban, Scotland – August 22, 2001 – Jack Lee of Surrey, British Columbia, took both the Senior Piobaireachd – reserved for winners of either the Gold Medal at Oban or Inverness – and the Highland Society of London Gold Medal here today at the Argyllshire Gathering, completing a double win that has been accomplished only a handful of times.

Lee won the Senior event with a rendition of “Craigellachie,” and took the Gold Medal with “Lament for Captain Donald MacKenzie.” Iain Macey of Michigan had to settle for his third second in the Gold Medal, coming up just short with “The End of the Great Bridge.”

The Gold Medal was held at the Great Western Hotel and the Senior at the Royal Hotel. Both venues were notably hot, and the 30 competitors in the Gold Medal had to wrestle with tuning rooms considerably cooler than the room where the event was held. Only a few instruments managed to stay in tune.

Andrew Rogers of Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, won the Silver Medal, while Chris Armstrong, Bathgate, Scotland, won the MSR for Former Winners.

The light music results on Thursday were dominated by non-Scottish pipers, with both of the A Grade events going to North Americans. The B Grade lists comprised 10 different players.

Senior Piobaireachd
1st Jack Lee, “Craigellachie”
2nd Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “”Donald Gruamach’s March”
3rd Mike Cusack, Houston, Texas, “The Unjust Incarceration”
4th Greg Wilson, Falkirk, Scotland, “Craigellachie”
Judges: D. MacPherson, M. MacRae, J. Young

Gold Medal
1st Jack Lee, “Lament for Captain Donald MacKenzie”
2nd Iain Macey, “The End of the Great Bridge”
3rd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland, “The Stewarts’ White Banner”
4th Douglas Murray, Glenrothes, Scotland, “The MacKays’ Banner”
5th Andrew Berthoff, Toronto, Canada, “The Prince’s Salute”
Judges: R. Lawrie, J. Allen, A. Wright

Silver Medal
1st Andrew Rogers, “The Glen Is Mine”
2nd Martin Frewin, New Zealand
3rd John Mulhearn
4th Anne Spalding, Broughty Ferry
5th Innes Smith
Judges: I. MacFadyen, W. MacDonald, W. Fraser

MacGregor Memorial
1st Thomas Fraser, Glasgow
2nd Alexis Meunier, France
3rd Erin McCarthy
4th Andrea Boyd

Former Winners MSR
1st Chris Armstrong
2nd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
3rd Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh
4th Gordon Walker, Glasgow
Judges: I. MacLellan, B. Donaldson, J. Wilson

A Grade March
1st Jori Chisholm, Seattle, Washington
2nd John Angus Smith, London England
3rd Herve Lefloc’h, Brittany, France
4th Jack Lee
5th Peter Hunt, Glasgow
Judges: W. MacDonald, J. Young, R. Lawrie

B Grade March
1st Richard Hawke, New Zealand
2nd Andrew Berthoff
3rd Martin Frewin, New Zealand
4th Brian MacKenzie
5th Neil Walker
Judges: W. Fraser, H. MacInnes, M. MacRae

A Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st Colin Clansey, Ontario
2nd Robert Watt, Northern Ireland
3rd Douglas Murray, Glenrothes, Scotland
4th Euan MacCrimmon, Inverness, Scotland
5th Greg Wilson
Judges: I. MacFadyen, J. Wilson

B Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st Donald MacLeod,
2nd Ross Cowen, Annan, Scotland
3rd Simon McKerral, Glasgow
4th Adrain Melvin, Pennsylvania
5th James MacPhee, Glasgow
Judges: A. Wright, I. MacLellan, R. Morrison

1st Chris Armstrong
2nd Robert Watt
3rd Robert Crabtree, Toronto


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?