August 31, 2002

North American Champions: SFU

Maxville, Ontario – August 3, 2002 – The Simon Fraser University Pipe Band won the North American Championship against a field of four other Grade 1 bands on a cloudless, warm day in eastern Ontario.

SFU took straight first prizes, though several of the judges admitted that it was a close call with the Toronto Police, which finished second.

The Windsor Police Pipe Band continued its 2002 undefeated streak by winning the Grade 2 event.

In the Professional Solo piping, Bruce Gandy of Halifax won all the light music events. Harvey Dawson, Toronto, won both Professional Solo Drumming prizes.

Grade 1: 1st SFU, 2nd Toronto Police, 3rd City of Washington, 4th Peel Regional Police, 5th 78th Highlanders (Halifax)
Grade 2: 1st Windsor Police, 2nd Niagara Police, 3rd Fredericton Society of St. Andrew, 4th North Coast, 5th Oran Mor, 6th Dartmouth & District
Grade 3: 1st Toronto Police, 2nd 87th Cleveland, 3rd Durham Regional Police, 4th Ottawa Police, 5th Manchester, 6th St. Andrew Society, Winnipeg
Grade 4: 1st Schenectady, 2nd 8 Wing, 3rd Chicago Caledonian Pipe Band
Grade 5: 1st St. Thomas, 2nd Guilford & Glencoe District Juvenile, 3rd Ann Arbor

Professional Solo Piping
Piobaireachd: 1st Ian K. MacDonald, Whitby, Ont.; 2nd Andrew Rogers, Halifax; 3rd Bruce Gandy, Halifax; 4th Andrew Hayes, Nepean, Ont.; 5th Robert Crabtree, Toronto; 6th Andrew Berthoff, Toronto. Judge: Jim McGillivray
March: 1st Bruce Gandy, 2nd Ian K. MacDonald; 3rd Andrew Hayes; 4th Robert Crabtree; 5th Michael Grey, Dundas, Ont.; 6th Andrew Berthoff. Judge: Reay Mackay
Strathspey & Reel: 1st Bruce Gandy; 2nd Michael Grey; 3rd Robert Crabtree; 4th Matthew Turnbull, Michigan; 5th Ian K. MacDonald; 6th Andrew Berthoff. Judge: Willie Connell
Jig: 1st Bruce Gandy; 2nd James McHattie; 3rd Matthew Turnbull; 4th Scot Walker, Emaus, Pennsylvania; 5th Andrew Hayes; 6th Michael Grey. Judge: Willie Connell

Professional Solo Drumming
MSR: 1st Harvey Dawson, 2nd Iain Maderios, 3rd Scott Armit, 4th Andrew Hoinicki, 5th Jacqui Troy, 6th Alex Kuldell. Judge: Jim Hutton
HP/Jig: 1st Harvey Dawson, 2nd Andrew Hoinicki, 3rd Jacqui Troy, 4th Scott Armit, 5th Iain Madeiros, 6th Alex Kuldell. Judge: R. Reid.


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?