August 31, 2010

Oban and Inverness Gold Medal draws announced

About 40 of the world’s top solo pipers sit on the edge of their sporrans each year as they await the all-important order-of-plays for the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal piobaireachd competitions at the Argyllshire Gathering at Oban and the Northern Meeting at Inverness in Scotland. A good draw – usually considered playing towards the end – can mean the difference between glory and also-ran.

The 2010 draws have been released and are published below. Oban allows 30 competitors and Inverness 25. The latter competition places several competitors in reserve should a piper accepted for the list proper.

The Argyllshire Gathering will be held on August 25-26; the Northern Meeting on September 2-3.

Argyllshire Gathering

1.           William Geddes, Glasgow

2.           David Wilton, Glasgow

3.           Martin Kessler, Germany

4.           Andrea Boyd, Glasgow

5.           Neil Smith, Balfron, Scotland

6.           Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland

7.           Douglas Murray, Cupar, Scotland

8.           Andrew Hayes, Ottawa

9.           Innes Smith, Bridge of Allan, Scotland

10.  Margaret Dunn, Glasgow

11.  Glenn Brown, Glasgow

12.  James MacHattie, Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

13.  Brendon Eade, New Zealand

14.  Jori Chisholm, Seattle

15.  Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland

16.  Andrew Rogers, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

17.  Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh

18.  Simon McKerrell, Lenzie, Scotland

19.  John Mulhearn, Troon, Scotland

20.  Gavin Walker, Stirling, Scotland

21.  Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland

22.  Marion Horsburgh, New Zealand

23.  Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland

24.  Finlay Johnston, Glasgow

25.  Fiona Manson, New Zealand

26.  Colin Lee, Vancouver

27.  Michael Gray, Edinburgh

28.  John-Angus Smith, London

29.  Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland

30.  Jonathan Greenlees, Belfast

Northern Meeting

1.           Fiona Manson, Glasgow

2.           Brian Donaldson, Newburgh, Scotland

3.           Gavin Walker, Stirling

4.           William Geddes, Glasgow

5.           Michael Gray, MBE, Edinburgh (Reserve)

6.           Jonathan Greenlees, Belfast (Reserve)

7.           Douglas Murray, Cupar, Scotland

8.           Richard Hawke, NewZealand

9.           Colin Lee, Vancouver

10.  James MacHattie, Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

11.  Andrea Boyd, Glasgow (Reserve)

12.  Innes Smith, Bridge of Allan, Scotland

13.  Neil Smith, Balfron, Scotland

14.  Brendon Eade, New Zealand (Reserve)

15.  John-Angus Smith, London

16.  Simon McKerrell, Lenzie, Scotland

17.  Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland

18.  Andrew Rogers, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

19.  Martin Kessler, Germany

20.  Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland

21. Jori Chisholm Seattle

22.  Euan MacCrimmon, Inverness

23.  Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland

24.  Margaret Dunn, Glasgow

25.  James Murray, Cupar, Scotland

26.  Finlay Johnston, Glasgow

27.  Andrew Hayes, Ottawa

28.  Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh

29.  Marion Horsburgh, New Zealand


As always, pipes|drums will have the results from these competitions as they are announced.


  1. If memory serves me correctly and I may be off a wee bit , but I think that Greg Wilson won the medal his first or seond try after the silver, playing in the first couple of players on the list. I also know that many others have done that early on so those with the early draw, just need to keep positive and hope that THEY , set the standard. I also seem to remember that Alasdair Gillies Marched up the street at Oban in his first year playing in the A March, played first on in full dress in a group of I believe almost 60 and won.



Forgotten Password?