March 31, 2002

SPA Piobaireachd Won by MacLellan

Glasgow – March 16, 2002 – Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, and Colin MacLellan, Edinburgh, were the big winners here today at the annual Scottish Pipers’ Association (SPA) competition. MacLellan won the Piobaireachd event and McCallum took the Former Winners’ MSR and the overall title, giving him his seventh career SPA aggregate award.

Roddy MacLeod and Gordon Walker did not attend due to a band commitment.

1st Colin Maclellan, “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee”
2nd Willie McCallum
3rd Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
4th Euan MacCrimmon, Inverness
Judges: John Wilson, Jimmy Young

Former Winners MSR
1st Willie McCallum, “Major Manson at Clachantrushal,” “Dora MacLeod,” “John MacKechnie’s Big Reel”
2nd Chris Armstrong, Bathgate
3rd Peter Hunt, Glasgow
Judges: Jimmy Banks, Willie Morrison

A March
1st Chris Armstrong
2nd Innes Smith
3rd Allan Russell, Kelty

A Strathspey & Reel
1st Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
2nd Lorne Cousin
3rd John Angus Smith, London

B Piobaireachd
1st Niall Stewart
2nd Ross Cowan
3rd George Sharp
4th Alistair Dunn

B March
1st Johnathon Greenlees, Belfast
2nd Gregor Speirs, Edinburgh
3rd Alistair Dunn
4th George Sharp

B Strathspey & Reel
1st Lisa Morrison
2nd Ross Cowan
3rd Alistair Dunn
4th James Thomson


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?