October 31, 2005

Sixth Set Tunes Series

We will launch the sixth Set Tunes Series by Dr. William Donaldson this week, showcasing meticuolous research on the settings and history of 14 of the piobaireachds set by The Piobaireachd Society for the major gatherings in 2006.

Since the publication and Willie Donaldson first started the series in 2000, the tunes have garnered world-wide attention. It is the first large-scale publication of piobaireachd not involving The Piobaireachd Society in almost 100 years.

In addition to an illuminating introduction, the sixth series, which coincides with the centenary of the birth of Bob Nicol, one of the famed “Bobs of Balmoral,” will comprise:

  • “The Battle of Strome”
  • “Chisholms’ Salute”
  • “The Daughter’s Lament”
  • “The Duke of Atholl’s Salute”
  • “Fair Honey”
  • “Grain in Hides and Corn in Sacks”
  • “Isabel MacKay”
  • “Lament for the Laird of Anapool”
  • “Lament for the Only Son”
  • “Lord MacDonald’s Lament”
  • “MacCrimmon Will Never Return”
  • “The MacLeans’ March”
  • “The Old Men of the Shells”
  • “Weighing From Land”

    A new tune will appear approximately once a week. The new series will bring the total number of tunes covered to 74.

    William Donaldson teaches in humanities in Scotland’s Open University and was for many years a pupil of Robert Nicol. His book, The Highland Pipe and Scottish Society, is considered by many to be a seminal work on the history of the instrument.


    What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

    Do you have news? Be sure to send your information to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




    Forgotten Password?