September 30, 2004

(Updated) Complete Northern Meeting Results

Inverness, Scotland – September 8-9, 2004 – The first day of the Northern Meeting piping competitions were held at the Eden Court Theatre in the “Capital of the Highlands,” with the Clasp, the A-Grade March, Strathspey & Reel, and the Silver Medal taking centre stage during the day, and the Silver Star Former Winners MSR being held at night.

Alasdair Gillies won the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal against a field of 29 other competitors, adding Inverness to his Oban medal. Strangely, no fifth prize was awarded in the high-standard contest on the day. Richard Hawke was informed by e-mail when he got back to New Zealand that the judges decided to give him the fifth.

Roddy MacLeod took the Clasp in a very good contest, and Alistair Dunn of Northern Ireland won the Silver Medal. Richard Hawke won the A-Grade March, Strathspey & Reel, and thus propels himself into the Former Winners MSR starting in 2005.

Highland Society of London Gold Medal
1st Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh, “Lament for Patrick Og MacCrimmon”
2nd Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland
3rd Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland
4th Ian K. MacDonald, Toronto, “His Father’s Lament for Donald MacKenzie”
5th Richard Hawke, “The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute”
Judges: Walter Drysdale, Malcolm McRae, Gavin Stoddart

1st Roddy MacLeod, Cumbernauld, Scotland, “Donald Gruamach’s March”
2nd Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “Lament for the Children”
3rd Murray Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland, “Lament for Donald Ban MacCrimmon”
4th Mike Cusack, Houston, “Lament for the Children”
Judges: Ronnie Lawrie, John MacDougall, John Wilson

Silver Medal
1st Alistair Dunn, Northern Ireland, “Melbank’s Salute”
2nd Jeremey Freeman, USA
3rd James MacHattie, Toronto
4th Matt Turnbull, Seattle
5th Alexis Muenier, Brittany
Judges: Hugh MacCallum, Iain MacFadyen, Jack Taylor

Silver Star Former Winners MSR
1st Willie McCallum
2nd Gordon Walker, Moscow, Scotland
3rd Angus MacColl, Oban, Scotland
4th Mike Cusack
Judges: John D. Burgess, Walter Cowan, Iain Morrison

A-Grade MSR
1st Richard Hawke, New Zealand
2nd Simon McKerrell, Edinburgh, Scotland
3rd P-M Michael Gray, The Highlanders
4th Alexis Meunier, Brittany
Judges: Walter Drysdale, Malcolm McRae, Gavin Stoddart

A-Grade Hornpipe & Jig
1st Ian K. MacDonald
2nd Alistair Dunn
3rd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
4th Gordon McReady, Renfrew, Scotland
Judges: John Wilson, Ronnie Lawrie, John MacDougall

B-Grade March
1st Ross McCrindle
2nd James MacPhee, Glasgow
3rd James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
4th Finlay Johnston, Glasgow
Judges: Iain MacFadyen, Iain Morrison, Hugh MacCallum

B-Grade Strathspey & Reel
1st James Beaumont
2nd Gregor Speirs, Edinburgh
3rd Finlay Johnston
4th Ross McCrindle
Judges: John D. Burgess, Jack Taylor, Finlay MacNeill

In the junior competitions, the events reportedly held a very high standard. One judge commented that the winning tune of the piobaireachd event would have gained a prize in the Gold Medal 15 years ago.


Under-15 March
1st Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland
2nd Billy Stewart
3rd Ashleigh Bell
4th Andrew Travers
Judges: Ian Duncan, Alan Forbes

Under-18 MSR
1st James MacKenzie
2nd Gillian Chalmers
3rd Fraser Maitland
4th Freya MacMillan
Judges: Walter Cowan, James Jackson

Junior Piobaireachd
1st James MacKenzie, “Lament for Ronald MacDonald of Morar”
2nd Ewen Henderson
3rd Kyle Morton
4th Fraser Maitland
Judges: Ian Duncan, Alan Forbes

This year’s Northern Meeting is the most international ever, with 44 percent of senior competitors not being from Scotland.


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




Forgotten Password?