August 31, 2007

Updated: Hawke wins Gold Medal at Oban

Oban, Scotland – August 22, 2007 –Oban, Scotland – August 22, 2007 – Richard Hawke of New Zealand (pictured) was awarded the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal for Piobaireachd at the Argyllshire Gathering today. It was the first Gold Medal for Hawke, who has been in the Medla prize lists several times at both the Argyllshire Gathering and the Northern Meeting.

Gold Medal
1st Richard Hawke, New Zealand, “Rory MacLoude’s Lament”
2nd Naill Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland, “Lachlan MacNeill Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy”
3rd Marion Horsburgh, New Zealand
4th Finlay Johnstone, Glasgow, “Rory MacLoude’s Lament”
5th Douglas Murray, Fife, Scotland
Judges: John Wilson, John MacDougall, Ronald Clarke

In the Senior Piobaireachd, which is restricted to previous winners of at least one of the Gold Medals from Oban or Inverness/Aviemore, Gordon Walker of Moscow, Scotland, prevailed.
Gordon Walker with the the Grant's Trophy (the silver thing at the right) and an even better bottle of malt whisky for winning the Senior Piobaireachd at the 2007 Argyllshire Gathering. [Photo: D. Maxwell.]
Senior Piobaireachd
1st Gordon Walker, “The Bells of Perth”
2nd Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “Lament for the Duke of Hamilton”
3rd Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh, “The Red Speckled Bull”
4th Greg Wilson, New Zealand, “Good Health To You, Donald”
Judges: Ronald Lawrie, Jack Taylor, Malcolm McRae

The highly competitive Silver Medal contest was won by James Beaumont of Bo’ness, Scotland. In general, a piper must win one of the Silver Medals to compete in the Gold Medal events.

Silver Medal
1st James Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland
2nd Colin Clansey, CFB Petawawa, Ontario
3rd Margaret Dunn, Glasgow
4th Andrew Douglas, Syracuse, New York
5th Willie McIntyre, Glasgow
Judges: Angus J. MacLellan, Tom Speirs, Neill Mulvie

MacGregor Memorial
1st Faye Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland
2nd Jamie Hawke, New Zealand
3rd Fraser Wylie, Campbeltown, Scotland
4th Daniel Johnstone
Judges: Iain MacFadyen, Andrew Wright

Former Winners MSR (twice through)
1st Alasdair Gillies, “David Ross,” “Inveraray Castle,” “Broadford Bay”
2nd Willie McCallum
3rd Gordon Walker
4th Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
Judges: Iain MacLellan, Willie Morrison, Bob Worrall

Keep watching pipes\drums for further results from the Argyllshire Gathering as they are announced.


What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

Do you have competition results? Be sure to send them to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.


  1. Congrats Richard! That’s three gold medals in a row that have been won by the piper who played last. Sure would be interesting to see a statistical analysis of prizes vs. order of play.

  2. Really great news Hawkie! This medal is richly deserved you have worked hard and played consistently well without a lot of luck in recent years.

  3. Congratulations Richard!! Great to see the continued success of the Kiwis like yourself, Marion and Greg. I learned last week that you took the school band to the worlds and did great, what an experience for them. Great stuff Richard!



Forgotten Password?