August 31, 2004

World’s top pipers stoked for Argyllshire Gathering

About 60 of the world’s best solo pipers are preparing for the 133rd annual Argyllshire Gathering at Oban, Scotland, the first of the two major gatherings on the world solo calendar.

The event will take place on Wednesday, August 25th, and Thursday, August 26th.

The centrepiece events at the Argyllshire Gathering will be the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal and the Senior Piobaireachd competitions. The Gold Medal at Oban is the sister competition to the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal at the Northern Meeting at Inverness, which will be September 4-5.

Each Gold Medal contest is limited to only 30 pipers, each of whom have to go through a rigourous process of competitive success before their entry is accepted. Winning the Silver Medal or a major piobaireachd event, or receiving a prize in a Gold Medal contest in the last several years, assures a piper of qualifying.

The Senior Piobaireachd is reserved for winners of one of the Gold Medals.

Entry to the Silver Medal competition, also held at Oban, is also rigourous, with only about two-thirds of all entries being accepted. Getting out of the Silver Medal category can be extremely difficult, and several players who have had numerous non-first prizes in the event over the years are still playing in it.

The Former Winners March, Strathspey & Reel will be held on Wednesday evening.

Wednesday’s indoor piobaireachd contests are followed by the outdoor games on Thursday, where A and B grade light music contests are held, rain or shine.

The “March to the Games” on Thursday morning is one of the great traditions in piping. The new Gold Medallist takes the role of Pipe-Major, with the throng of solo pipers typically playing “The Argyllshire Gathering” upon reaching the games park.

The draw for the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal competition:

  • Euan MacCrimmon, Inverness, Scotland
  • John Angus Smith, Glasgow
  • Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
  • * Chris Armstrong, Bathgate, Scotland
  • Jori Chisholm, Seattle
  • Richard Hawke, New Zealand
  • Herve Le Floch, France
  • Brendon Eade, Inverness, Scotland
  • Alan Bevan, Surrey, Canada
  • Ross Cowan, Annan, Scotland
  • Niall Stewart, Aberdeen, Scotland
  • Andrew Hayes, Ottawa
  • Robert Watt, Northern Ireland
  • * Greg Wilson, New Zealand
  • Margaret Houlihan, Eire
  • Douglas Murray, Fife, Scotland
  • * Stuart Shedden, Glasgow
  • Fiona Manson, New Zealand
  • Ian Whitelaw, Los Angeles
  • Andrew Rogers, Fredericton, Canada
  • Innes Smith, Edinburgh
  • Martin Kessler, Germany
  • Marion Horsburgh
  • * Stuart Liddell, Inverary, Scotland
  • Donald MacPhee, Alexandria, Scotland
  • Allan Russell, Kelty, Scotland
  • Ian K. MacDonald, Whitby, Canada
  • Duncan MacGillivray, Scotland

    * Pipers who have won the Highland Society of London’s Gold Medal at Inverness.

    Judges for the Oban Gold Medal are reportedly Hugh MacCallum, Iain MacFadyen, and Tom Speirs.


    What do you think? We always want to hear from our readers, so please use our comment system to provide your thoughts!

    Do you have news? Be sure to send your information to pipes|drums. We can’t report what we don’t know about! Please remember to support the businesses that advertise and make the not-for-profit p|d possible.




    Forgotten Password?