August 31, 2010

Cap Caval takes Breton Championship; Easton and Watt turn it on at Lorient

Lorient, Brittany – August 8-9, 2010 – Stuart Easton of New Zealand and Northern Ireland’s Robert Watt won the Piobaireachd competition and the MacCrimmon Trophy for overall best across Breton, Irish and Scottish selections at the Inter-Celtic Music Festival in Lorient. It is the sixth time that Watt has won the trophy.

Earlier, Bagad Cap Caval secured the Breton Championship of Bagadoù, an event that was televised live in France and streamed on the Internet.

Breton Championship of Bagadoù
1st Bagad Cap Caval
2nd Bagad Kemper
3rd Bagad Kemperle
4th Bagad Brieg

Piobaireachd (nine competed)
1st Stuart Easton
2nd Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh
3rd Andrew Carlisle, Northern Ireland
4th John Mulhearn, Troon, Scotland
5th Matthew Supranowicz, Australia

Juges: Alasdair Gillies, Rory Grossart

MacCrimmon Trophy (13 competed)
1st Robert Watt
2nd James P. Troy, Victoria, British Columbia
3rd Sylvain Hamon, Brittany
4th Andrew Carlisle
5th John Mulhearn
6th Cédric le Bozec, Brittany
7th Matthew Supranowicz
8th Cameron Drummond
9th Gwénael le Corranc, Brittany
10th Jonathan Graham, Glasgow
11th Stuart Easton
12th Cory Dale, Australia
13th Peter Donnan, Ireland

Juges: Breton: Patrick Molard, Hubert Raud; Scottish: Alasdair Gillies, Rory Grossart; Irish: John O’Brien, Bobby Brannigan




Forgotten Password?