Horwath, Darmadi, MacDonald winners at Balmoral Classic

Published: November 20, 2017
(Page 1 of 1)

Winners at the 2017 Balmoral Classic (L-R): Liam MacDonald, Joseph Horwath and Callum Younger.

Pittsburgh – November 17-19, 2017 – Joseph Horwath of Saginaw, Michigan, and Matthew Darmadi of Houston were the overall winners of the piping and drumming events, respectively, at the eleventh annual Balmoral Classic US Junior Solo Piping & Snare Drumming Championships, with 15 pipers from six US states, Canada and Scotland, and three drummers from Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas participating. The event is organized by the Balmoral School of Piping & Drumming and was held in the McGonigle Theatre, Central Catholic High School. The weekend of events included receptions and recitals by judges, and concluded with a concert by fiddler Alasdair Fraser and cellist Natalie Haas.


1st Liam Macdonald, “Hector MacLean’s Warning”
2nd Joseph Horwath, “Corrienessan’s Salute”
3rd Colin Johnstone, The MacFarlanes’ Gathering”
4th Tyler Destremps , “Melbank’s Salute”
5th Colin Tait, Hiharin Dro O Dro

1st Callum Younger, “David Ross of  Rosehall,” “The Caledonian Society of London,” “Willie Murray’s Reel”
2nd Drew Mackay, “Donald MacLellan of Rothesay,” “Mrs. Donald MacPherson,” “John MacInnes”
3rd Robert Dunn, “Parker’s Welcome to Perthshire,” “Stac Polly,” “Captain Lachlan MacPhail of Tiree”
4th Joseph Horwath, “Leaving Lunga,” “Cabar Feidh,” “Tom Kettles”
5th Gemma Briggs, “Alan Dodd’s Fareweill to Scotland,” “The Doune of Invernochty,” “The Blackberry Bush”

Judges: John Bottomley, Amy Garson, Jack Taylor

Snare Drumming

1st Matthew Darmadi, “Duncan MacInnes,” “Maggie Cameron,” “Lt. Col. D.J.S. Murray”
2nd Ian Bielski,” P-M Tom McAllister,” “Maggie Cameron,” “Loch Carron”
3rd Isabella Jackson, “Donald Cameron,” “Bogan Lochan,” “Pretty Marion”

Hornpipe & Jig
1st Isabella Jackson, “Uphold the Right,” “The Curlew”
2nd Matthew Darmadi, “Salute to the MacLawsontyres,” “Bronni’s Blue Brozzi”
3rd Ian Bielski, “Crossing the Minch,” “Alan MacPherson of Moss Park”

1st Steven MacDonald
2nd Matthew Fuhrman
3rd Coby Rangel
4th Becky Jesurum
5th Liam Conway
6th Jett Vaultz
7th Elyce Milligan

Judges: Gordon Bell, Jon Quigg


VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5
VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0

The new pipes|drums app offers the same publication with a streamlined experience. Get the latest news optimized for your smartphone.
Download on the App Store

Get it on Google Play
December 14, 2005Gordon Duncan dies.
  • Solitary confinement
    Thu, 7 Dec 2017
    I’ve said before that Highland piping is often a solitary pursuit that attracts introverts. The lone piper. Solo competition. Hours of isolated practice at home. Maybe nowhere in our art is independence more evident than in our mu …
Read more »
UPCOMING EVENTS January 1, 2018Waipu Caledonian Society Highland GamesWaipu

April 25, 3015Master Class Seminar 2015Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Piping teachers: For a young piper’s pipes 1. tie the drones 3 or 4 inches apart. 2. Get the smallest mouthpiece you can or get the blowstick cut shorter. 3. Insist on a small bag – this will get the student learning how to blow the bagpipe correctly from the start.
Sandy Keith, Dunedin, Florida