August 31, 2009

Lorient round-up: Cap Caval captures Breton Championship; Toronto Police win “pipe band” event

August 9, 2009 – Lorient, Brittany – Bagad Cap Caval won the Breton Bagadou Championship, while Auray bested Cap Caval to take the Lorient Championship. In the “Pipe Band” competition, the visiting Toronto Police placed first in the Medley event and tied Cap Caval in the MSR in the two-band contest.
Bagadou – Grade 1
Lorient Championship
1st Auray
2nd Cap Caval
3rd Kemperle
4th Brieg
5th Perros-Guirec
6th St Nazaire
Breton Championship
1st Cap Caval
2nd Auray
3rd Brieg
4th Kemperle
5th Perros-guirec
6th St. Nazaire
Pipe Band
1st Toronto Police / Cap Caval (tied)
1st Toronto Police
2nd Cap Caval
Judges : John Wilson, Bob Worrall, Bobby Brannigan, Tom Johnstone
Earlier in the week the solo competitions were held, including the MacCrimmon Trophy event on August 2nd, in which 13 pipers competed across Breton, Scottish and Irish sections. Alex Meunier of Brittany was the overall winner.
Herve L'Floc'h, second from right, winner of the Lorient Piobaireachd event.
MacCrimmon Trophy
Breton Music
1st Cédric le Bozecm, Brittany
2nd Gwenael le Corronc, Brittany
3rd Alexis Meunier
4th Stuart Easton, New Zealand
5th Andrew Carlisle, Northern Ireland
Irish Music
1st Andrew Carlisle
2nd Robert Watt, Northern Ireland
3rd Michael Grey, Canada / Matthew Supranowicz (tied)
Scottish Music
1st Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh
2nd Alexis Meunier
3rd Ian K. MacDonald, Whitby, Ontario
Also competing but not in the prizes were Cédric Lebozec, Brittany; Chris Gibb, Glasgow;  Alasdair Henderson, Glasgow; and David Stone.
A Piobaireachd competition was held on August 3rd with 11 competitors participating.
1st Hervé le Floc’h, Brittany, “The Blind Piper’s Obstinacy”
2nd Alasdair Henderson, “The Battle of Auldearn” No. 2
3rd Ian K. MacDonald, “Lament for the Dead”
4th Andrew Carlisle, “Lament for Captain MacDougall”
5th Robert Watt, “Corrienessan’s Salute”
Also competing but not in the list were Alexis Meunier, Chris Gibb, Matthew Supranowicz, Michael Grey, Cameron Drummond and Stuart Easton.
Andrew Carlisle won a Kitchenpiping event on August 4th.




Forgotten Password?