November 30, 2011

McCallum wins his fourth Bratach at London

London – November 5, 2011 – Willie McCallum of Bersden, Scotland, marked Guy Fawkes Day in London with a band, by winning his fourth Bratach Gorm for Piobaireachd, thus becoming the second qualifier for the 2012 Glenfiddich Championship. McCallum was also the overall aggregate champion at the contest.


Bratach Gorm (Gold Medallists and winners of the Gillies Cup)
1st Willie McCallum, “Lament for MacSwan of Roaig”
2nd Faye Henderson, Kirrieumuir, Scotland, “Mrs. MacLeod of Talisker’s Salute”
3rd Murray Henderson, Kirriemuir, Scotland, “Lament for the Children”
4th Iain Speirs, Edinburgh, “Nameless – Cherede Darieva”
5th Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland, “In the Praise of Morag”

Judges: Willie Morrison, John Wilson, Bob Worrall

William Gillies Cup (A-Grade)
1st Andrew Carlisle, Pittsburgh
2nd Iain Speirs
3rd Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalch, Scotland
4th Willie McCallum
5th Gordon Walker, Galston, Scotland

R.G. Lawrie Ram’s Horn Snuff Mull (A-Grade, but not in the Gillies Cup)
1st David Wilton, Glasgow
2nd Douglas Murray, Fife, Scotland
3rd Cameron Drummond, Edinburgh
4th Ian K. MacDonald, Whitby, Ontario
5th Innes Smith, Bridge of Allan, Scotland

John Roe Plate (for B-Grade)
1st Derek Midgley, Glasgow
2nd Xavier Boderiou, Brittany
3rd Alex Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
4th Graham Drummond
5th Tracey Williams, Glasgow

Light Music
MSR events
London Medallion / John MacFadyen Quaich (Silver Star competitors and Robertson Bowl winners)
1st Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow
2nd Willie MacCallum
3rd Ian Spiers
4th Douglas Murray
5th Peter Hunt, Glasgow

J.B. Robertson Rose Bowl (as above, but just a March)
1st Niall Stewart
2nd Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
3rd Murray Henderson
4th Peter Hunt
5th Callum Beaumont

Strachan Memorial Cup (A-Grade)
1st Jonathan Greenlees, Northern Ireland
2nd Neil Walker, Stirling, Scotland
3rd Alex Meunier, Brittany
4th Alex Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
5th Cameron Drummond

London Scottish Hodden Grey (B- & C-Grade)
1st Jonathan Graham, Glasgow
2nd Andrew Hall, England
3rd Alan Clark, Ottawa
4th Innes Smith
5th Fiona Manson, Glasgow

Hornpipe & Jig events
The Mary Flora Beaton Cup (Premier and A-Grade)
1st Alex Gandy
2nd Ian Spiers
3rd Willie McCallum

Donald Forbes Medal (Strachan Cup players)
1st Derek Midgley
2nd Alex Meunier
3rd Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh

Hugh MacMillan Trophy (B-Grade)
1st David Wilton
2nd Jonathan Graham
3rd Ashley McMichael




Forgotten Password?