February 28, 2009

Metro Cup goes to McCallum

Newark, New Jersey – February 21, 2009 – Willie McCallum of Bearsden, Scotland, was the overall winner of the annual Metro Cup Invitational Solo Piping Competition, an event organized by the Metro Branch of the Eastern United States Pipe Band Association. McCallum’s third-prize in the Piobaireachd event and second in the Medley were enough to take the day in the professional competition. Anthony Masterson was the overall winner of the Pipe-Major George M. Bell Amateur Championship. The competition offered more than US$6,000 in prizes and awarded a solid gold coin worth more than $1,000 to the overall winner. McCallum was also the overall winner of the 2008 Metro Cup.
1st Gordon Walker, Galston, Scotland, “Scarce of Fishing”
2nd Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow, “Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay”
3rd Willie McCallum, “Lament for the Children”
4th Alasdair Gillies, Pittsburgh, “The Vaunting”
5th Glenn Brown, Glasgow, “Beloved Scotland”
6th Alastair Dunn, Glasgow, “Isabel MacKay”
7th Jori Chisholm, Seattle, “Lament for the Dead”
1st Alasdair Gillies, “John Rankin,” “When the Night is Falling,” “South River Ball,” “Donald Ruadh,” “South Uist Golf Club,” “Red Rory’s Wife’s,” “Piper and the Dairymaid,” “Capecaval,” “Kail & Puddings,” “Lament for Iain Breac MacLeod,” Islay’s Charms,” “Norman MacLean”
2nd Willie McCallum
3rd Glenn Brown
4th John Patrick, Fankerton, Scotland
5th Roddy MacLeod
Judges for both events were Jimmy McIntosh, Mike Rogers and John Wilson.
Also playing but not in the prizes were Duncan Bell, John Bradley, Margaret Dunn, Brian Meagher, Ken McKeveny, Derek Midgely and Jesse Ofgang. Bruce Gandy had entered but had to withdraw due to illness.
1st Elizabeth Sheridan, “MacNeill of Barra’s March”
2nd Anthony Masterson
3rd Richard Gillies
4th Robert Durning
5th Andrew Tice
6th Reil Becker
Judge: Alastair Dunn
Thomas Brancella Memorial MSR
1st Richard Gillies, “The Young MacGregor,” “Arniston Castle,” “Alick C. MacGregor”
2nd Anthony Masterson
3rd Robert Durning
4th Willa Davie
5th Elizabeth Sheridan
6th Andrew Tice
Judge: Margaret Dunn
Also competing in the amateur events but not in the prizes were Jamie Cuthill, Willa Davie, Roberta Sefcik and Conrad Worley.




Forgotten Password?