June 25, 2016

SLOT in European union at Forres

Forres, Scotland – June 25, 2016 – St. Laurence O’Toole won the 2016 European Pipe Band Championship at Forres, near Inverness in the north of Scotland. The competition coincidentally was held two days after Great Britain voted to leave the European Union after a contentious campaign. The championship was the third of the five major competitions on the RSPBA calendar. It was the first major championship victory of the year for SLOT, which came all the way from a sixth prize at the UK Championship two weeks before. SLOT was the third different winner of the three championships held so far this year, with Field Marshal Montgomery taking the UK, and Inveraray & District winning the British on May 21st.

2016 European Champions St. Laurence O’Toole set to march off with the trophy at Forres.

Grade 1 (medley, 11 competed)
1st St. Laurence O’Toole (1,1,2,1)
2nd Field Marshal Montgomery (2,3,2,2)
3rd Inveraray & District (4,2,1,3)
4th Shotts & Dykehead Caledonia (3,4,6,4)
5th ScottishPower (5,5,7,5)
6th Spirit of Scotland (ens.pref.) (6,7,5,6)
Judges: Robert Mathieson, John McCarlie (piping); H. Russell (drumming); Gordon Lawrie (ensemble)

Grade 2 (MSR, 18 competed)
1st Police Service of Northern Ireland (1,1,4,1)
2nd Buchan Peterson (4,3,3,2)
3rd Johnstone (5,4,2,3)
4th Balagan (3,2,7,4)
5th Lomond & Clyde (2,5,5,5)
6th Glasgow Skye Association (6,6,1,6)
Judges: George Wilson, Robert Shaw (piping); Paul Turner (drumming); John MacInnes (ensemble)




Forgotten Password?