October 31, 2008

Walker successfully defends Glenfiddich Championship

Blair Atholl, Scotland – October 25, 2008 – Gordon Walker of Galston, Scotland, was the overall winner of the 2008 Glenfiddich Invitational Solo Piping Competition at Blair Castle, Blair Atholl, Scotland, his second consecutive championship. Willie McCallum of Bearsden, Scotland, narrowly missed racking up a record-setting ninth Glenfiddich, finishing second overall.
1st Gordon Walker
2nd Willie McCallum
3rd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland
Gordon Walker with his Glenfiddich awards. [Photo: Derek Maxwell]
1st Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow, “The Earl of Ross’s March”
2nd Gordon Walker, “Scarce of Fishing”
3rd Willie McCallum, “Lachlan MacNeil Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy”
4th Angus MacColl, “Lemant for Patrick Og MacCrimmon”
5th Chris Armstrong, Airth, Scotland, “Lament for the Children”
Judges: Bill Livingstone, Iain MacFadyen, Angus J. MacLellan
1st Gordon Walker, “The Pap of Glencoe,” “Tulloch Castle,” “Major David Manson”
2nd Angus MacColl, “MacLean of Pennycross,” “Caledonian Society of London,” “Sound of Sleat”
3rd Willie McCallum, “John MacColl’s March to Kilbowie Cottage,” “Dora MacLeod,” “John MacKechnie’s Big Reel”
4th Niall Stewart, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland, “Parker’s Welcome to Perthshire,” “Ewe wi the Crookit Horn,” “Bessie McIntyre”
5th Jack Lee, Surrey, British Columbia, “Bonnie Ann,” “Islay Ball,” “Little Cascade”
Judges: Walter Cowan, Ronnie McShannon, Tom Speirs
2008 Glenfiddich competitors (L-R): Willie McCallum, Jack Lee, Gordon Walker, Roddy MacLeod, Bruce Gandy, Alan Bevan, Greg Wilson, Angus MacColl, Niall Stewart, Chris Armstrong [photo: Derek Maxwell]
Also competing but not in the prizes were Alan Bevan, Surrey, British Columbia; Bruce Gandy, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia; and Greg Wilson, New Zealand.
Order of play in the events was:
1st Bruce Gandy
2nd William McCallum
3rd Niall Stewart
4th Gordon Walker
5th Roddy MacLeod
6th Angus MacColl
7th Greg Wilson
8th Chris Armstrong
9th Alan Bevan
10th Jack Lee
1st Greg Wilson
2nd Roddy MacLeod
3rd William McCallum
4th Chris Armstrong
5th Alan Bevan
6th Jack Lee
7th Niall Stewart
8th Gordon Walker
9th Bruce Gandy
10th Angus MacColl
Iain MacFadyen was awarded the ceremonial Balvenie Medal for his life-long service to piping.




Forgotten Password?