April 30, 2010

Walker wins Donald MacLeod Memorial

Stornoway, Scotland – April 9, 2010 – By winning both the Piobaireachd and MSR events at the annual Donald MacLeod Invitational Memorial Solo Piping Competition, Gordon Walker gained the overall championship. The competition pays tribute to MacLeod, a native of Lewis, by showcasing his compositions throughout the events. The Hornpipe & Jig event is not factored into the overall award.

1st Gordon Walker, Galston, Scotland, “Lament for the Rowan Tree”
2nd Roddy MacLeod, Glasgow, “Lament for the Iolaire”
3rd Angus MacColl, Benderloch, Scotland, “Lament for John Morrison of Assynt House”
4th Willie McCallum, Bearsden, Scotland, “MacMurich’s Salute”

1st Gordon Walker
2nd Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, Scotland
3rd Angus MacColl
4th Alan Bevan, Abbotsford, British Columbia

Hornpipe & Jig
1st Stuart Liddell
2nd Willie McCallum
3rd Angus MacColl
4th Roddy MacLeod

Also competing but not in the prizes were Glenn Brown, Glasgow, and James Murray, Cupar, Scotland.

John Wilson, Iain MacFadyen and John MacDougall judged all of the events.




Forgotten Password?