May 05, 2019

Third Swinton Open goes to Carlisle

Andrew Carlisle (left) gets the trophy from Ian Swinton, namesake of the P-M Ian Swinton Open Piping Championship, with MWPBA President Jim Sim at right.

Park Ridge, Illinois – May 4, 2019 – Andrew Carlsisle of Pittsburgh was the overall winner of the third annual Pipe-Major Ian Swinton Open Piping Championship, named after the founder and long-time leader of the Midlothian Scottish Pipe Band of Chicago. Carlsile captured the overall award with a first in the MSR and a second in the piobaireachd, edging Nick Hudson of Houston, who won the piobaireachd, but took third in the MSR.

1st Nick Hudson, Houston “The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute”
2nd Andrew Carlisle, Pittsburgh, “The End of the Great Bridge”
3rd Teddy Krogh, Anchorage, Alaska, “Lachlan MacNeill Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy”
4th Derek Midgley, New Jersey, “The Battle of Bealach nam Brog”

1st Andrew Carlisle, “Pipe’Major George Ross’s Farewell to the Black Watch,” “Inveraray Castle,” “The Grey Bob”
2nd Derek Midgley, “The Clan MacColl,” “Bob of Fettercairn,” “Miss Proud”
3rd Nick Hudson, “Arthur Bignold of Loch Rosque,” “The Piper’s Bonnet,” Mrs. MacPherson of Inveran”
4th Andrew Lewis, St. Paul, Minnesota, “David Ross,” “Susan MacLeod,” “The Cockerel in the Creel”

Also competing: Brad Davidson, Ontario; Kenneth Liechti and Jack Williamson, Topeka, Kansas.

Competitors and organizers at the 2019 P-M Ian Swinton Piping Championship (L-R): Nick Hudson, Derek Midgley, Andrew Lewis, Teddy Krogh, Andrew Carlisle, Jack Williamson, Ian Swinton, Brad Davidson, Kenneth Liechti and Jim Sim.

Michael Grey and Jim Stack judged both events.


Related articles

Krogh flies high at MWPBA P-M Ian Swinton Open
April 22, 2018


Lewis wins first Swinton Open
April 4, 2017



MWPBA honours American living legend with event
January 4, 2017



Swinton retires after 34 years with Midlothian
November 30, 2008





Forgotten Password?